CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About
COGNOIS

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

COGNOIS:

Communication and Observation toward a Generic Natural Ontogeny for Intelligent Systems

The ultimate goal of COGNOIS is to develop a generic computing architecture leading to a dependable intelligent machine endowed with the required observation and communication abilities and readily amendable to various real-world applications. A major challenge in developing dependable intelligent machines exploiting extensive behavioural modeling hinges upon a fully integrated exploitation of a number of sensing modalities - optical, acoustical, mechanical, etc. - and the validation of the respective (visual, auditory, haptic, etc.) knowledge, using a variety of human-machine communication channels. Other challenges involve data selection and segmentation and knowledge representation and summarizing.

COGNOIS builds upon the “Actors-Properties-Interactions-Architecture” (APIA) which is under development in VERTEX. COGNOIS seeks ways to model general behaviours (ex. how does a human expert operator perform a delicate, dextrous task). This project focuses on a specific multimodal observation framework combining computer vision and speech recognition and integrates derived behaviours within virtual environments using advanced human-machine interfaces. The operating scenario of the COGNOIS architecture involves the following three steps:

  1. Knowledge acquisition and validation of significant entities, building on existing approaches and learning to deal with their deficiencies;

  2. Knowledge acquisition and validation of significant behaviours, stemming from known entities in the environment;

  3. Knowledge use, i.e. documentation of the observations, with the goal of developing a working prototype architecture which is first applied to situations involving a small number of simple entities and is later refined as the complexity of the observed situations is gradually increased.


More...

Project title    Investigator(s)    Level
   Incremental description of deformable objects in video sequences using computer vision    Stéphane Drouin (Student)
Marc Parizeau (Supervisor)
Patrick Hébert (Co-supervisor)
   Ph.D.
(1/2003 - 12/2007)
   Detecting humans in a cluttered scene    Jérôme Vignola (Student)
Robert Bergevin (Supervisor)
   Masters
(9/2001 - 12/2003)
   Region matching of people images taken at different times and locations    Michel Lantagne (Student)
Robert Bergevin (Supervisor)
Marc Parizeau (Co-supervisor)
   Masters
(9/2001 - 9/2003)
   Person Identification System with Computer Vision    Alexandre Lemieux (Student)
Marc Parizeau (Supervisor)
   Masters
(9/2000 - 6/2003)
   Description of a moving person observed by a multi-camera system    Stéphane Drouin (Student)
Marc Parizeau (Supervisor)
Patrick Hébert (Co-supervisor)
   Masters
(5/2001 - 12/2002)

Publications

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos
COGNOIS

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

COGNOIS (Communication and Observation toward a Generic Natural Ontogeny for Intelligent Systems)


Le but ultime de COGNOIS est le développement d’une architecture de calcul générique menant à une machine intelligente et fiable dotée des capacités d’observation et communication requises et facilement adaptable à diverses applications dans le monde réel. Un défi majeur dans le développement de machines intelligentes et fiables exploitant la modélisation à grande échelle est celui d’une exploitation entièrement intégrée d’un nombre de modalités sensorielles optique, acoustique, mécanique, etc. et la validation de la connaissance respective (visuelle, auditoire, haptique, etc.), en utilisant une variété de canaux de communication homme-machine. D’autres défis incluent la sélection des données et la segmentation et la représentation des connaissances et la préparation de résumés de celles-ci.

COGNOIS s’appuie sur l’architecture APIA, “Actors-Properties-Interactions-Architecture” qui fait partie du projet VERTEX. COGNOIS cherche des façons de modéliser des comportements généraux (ex. comment est-ce qu’un opérateur expert humain effectue une tâche délicate et requérant de la dextérité). Ce projet se penche sur un framework d’observation multimodale spécifique combinant la vision par ordinateur et la reconnaissance de la parole et intègre des comportements dérivés dans le cadre d’environnements virtuels en utilisant des interfaces homme-machine sophistiqués. Le scénario de l’architecture COGNOIS repose sur les trois étapes suivantes:

  1. Acquisition de connaissances et validation d’entités significatives en se servant d’approches existantes et en apprenant à gérer leur déficiences;

  2. Acquisition de connaissances et validation de comportements significatifs, dérivés d’entités connues dans l’environnement;

  3. Utilisation des connaissances, i.e. la documentation des observations, dans le but de développer un prototype de l’architecture qui est appliqué en premier lieu à des situations impliquant un petit nombre d’entités simples et qui est ensuite raffiné à mesure que la complexité des situations observées est graduellement augmentée.


Pour en savoir plus...

Titre du projet    Chercheur(s)    Niveau
   Découverte incrémentale d'objets déformables dans des séquences vidéo par vision numérique    Stéphane Drouin (Étudiant)
Marc Parizeau (Directeur)
Patrick Hébert (Codirecteur)
   Doctorat
(1/2003 - 12/2007)
   Localisation de personnes dans une scène encombrée    Jérôme Vignola (Étudiant)
Robert Bergevin (Directeur)
   Maîtrise
(9/2001 - 12/2003)
   Appariement de silhouettes humaines (mise en correspondance d'éléments d'images)    Michel Lantagne (Étudiant)
Robert Bergevin (Directeur)
Marc Parizeau (Codirecteur)
   Maîtrise
(9/2001 - 9/2003)
   Système d'identification de personnes par vision numérique    Alexandre Lemieux (Étudiant)
Marc Parizeau (Directeur)
   Maîtrise
(9/2000 - 6/2003)
   Description d’une personne en mouvement observée par un système multi-caméras    Stéphane Drouin (Étudiant)
Marc Parizeau (Directeur)
Patrick Hébert (Codirecteur)
   Maîtrise
(5/2001 - 12/2002)

Publications

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés