CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Region matching of people images taken at different times and locations
Masters
Michel Lantagne
Robert Bergevin (Supervisor)
Marc Parizeau (Co-supervisor)
Problem: With the recent availability of low cost yet powerful computer hardware, one can now envision the emergence of sophisticated and intelligent surveillance systems integrating a network of loosely-coupled computation nodes, each connected to a camera. These systems would need to track a person from non overlapping fields of view in order to determine whether each camera is observing the same person. The problem consists of measuring the similarity between two human silhouettes.
Motivation: This project is a part of COGNOIS: Communication and Observation toward a Generic Natural Ontogeny for Intelligent Systems. The goal of COGNOIS is the development of a general intelligent architecture with skills for observation and communication for many applications in the real world. One application of COGNOIS is the construction of a system able to detect and track one or many persons in a scene with a sparse network of cameras. Thus, this system requires a module for information integration of images taken at different times and viewpoints.
Approach: Human silhouette comparison can be addressed by characterizing a person’s appearance. The project takes in entries of a human silhouette segmented image which may include labelled body parts. The approach uses different methods of region matching. The project is divided into several parts. First, many descriptors of colour and texture are studied and tested so as to enable the characterization and segmentation of human body parts. Second, a region matching scheme is used to compare the regions within two human silhouettes. Then, a similarity measure is defined to facilitate person matching. Finally, spatio-temporal coherence is used to improve the matching and tracking.
Challenges: Many systems have been developed recently for the detection and tracking of people, but in the majority of cases they impose many constraints. For example, several systems assume that there is only one person in the scene at a time, the person must stay within the scene and face the camera, the background must remain static or simple, etc. When these assumptions are not respected, the system’s robustness degrades rapidly. The main challenge is to develop a system where the number of starting assumptions is reduced while preserving a good robustness.
Applications: Description and tracking of people is useful in several situations. Here are some examples: intelligent monitoring and surveillance systems in airports, parking lots and old age homes for detection of problematic situations (and to start an alarm), user interfaces allowing actions to be defined by simple movements of the user, participation and interaction in a virtual reality, translation of sign language, supervision and interventions in medical operations, etc.
Calendar: September 2001 - September 2003
Last modification: Sep 28 2007 2:10PM by lantagne

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Appariement de silhouettes humaines (mise en correspondance d'éléments d'images)
Maîtrise
Michel Lantagne
Robert Bergevin (Directeur)
Marc Parizeau (Codirecteur)
Problème: Ces dernières années, l'arrivée d'ordinateurs de plus en plus puissants et à faibles coûts a permis d'envisager des systèmes de surveillance sophistiqués et intelligents intégrant un réseau de noeuds de calcul, chacun relié à une caméra. Ces systèmes tentent de suivre une personne à travers le temps et doivent donc déterminer si les caméras, de points de vue différents, observent la même personne. Le probème consiste donc à mesurer la similarité entre deux silhouettes humaines.
Motivation: Ce projet s’inscrit dans le cadre de COGNOIS : Communication and Observation toward a Generic Natural Ontogeny for Intelligent Systems. Le but ultime de COGNOIS est le développement d’une architecture générique intelligente possédant des habiletés pour l’observation et la communication transférables dans de nombreuses applications variées du monde réel. Une application de COGNOIS est la construction d’un système capable de détecter et suivre une ou des personnes dans une scène à l’aide d’un réseau de caméras. Ce système requiert donc un procédé permettant d’intégrer les informations d’images de différents points de vue ou prises à des temps différents (rapprochés).
Approche: L’approche consiste à caractériser l'apparence d'une silhouette humaine. Les éléments déjà segmentés et étiquettés représentent les parties estimées du corps d’une personne. Les images peuvent être séparées dans l’espace et dans le temps. Le projet se divise en plusieurs étapes. Dans un premier temps, différents descripteurs de couleur et de texture sont étudiés pour caractériser et segmenter les parties du corps de la personne. Deuxièmement, une technique d'appariement de régions d'image est utilisée pour comparer les régions de deux silhouettes humaines. Ensuite, une mesure de similarité est définie pour faciliter la comparaison des personnes.
Défis: Plusieurs systèmes de détection et de suivi de personne ont été développés récemment, mais ils imposent, dans la plupart des cas, le respect de nombreuses contraintes. Par exemple, plusieurs systèmes assument q’une seule personne à la fois est présente dans la scène, qu’elle doit y demeurer en tout temps, qu’elle doit faire face à la caméra, que l’arrière-plan doit être fixe ou simple, etc. Lorsque ces contraintes ne sont pas respectées, les systèmes perdent rapidement de leur robustesse. Le défi est donc la réalisation d’un système où le nombre d’hypothèses de départ est réduit au minimum tout en conservant une bonne robustesse.
Applications: Les systèmes de suivi de personnes sont utiles dans plusieurs situations. En voici quelques exemples : systèmes de surveillance intelligents dans les aéroports, les stationnements et les résidences d’aînés pour détecter des situations problématiques (et déclencher une alarme), interfaces usagers permettant de définir des actions par simples mouvements de l’usager, participation et interaction dans une réalité virtuelle, traduction du langage des signes, supervision et interventions dans des opérations médicales, etc.
Calendrier: septembre 2001 - septembre 2003
Dernière modification: Sep 28 2007 2:10PM par lantagne

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés