CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Travel Through Parallel Worlds: Interactive Simulation using Virtual Reality
Ph.D.
François Rioux
Denis Laurendeau (Supervisor)
Problem: We want to provide scientists who study complex systems with an interactive simulation tool which allows their systems to be more easily understood. The main problem we wish to address is the visualization and movement both spatially and temporally through various parallel worlds generated by the simulator.
Motivation: Systems currently studied are becoming more and more complex and it is necessary to be able to more easily understand these systems in order to more easily operate them. Simulation is a useful tool since it enables the discovery of different components and various characteristics of the systems. There are however some problems which must be addressed, including visualization and data management.
Approach: A generic software framework will be developed to allow data to be visualized and reorganized, analyze parameters and travel through various virtual worlds. A CAVE virtual reality environment, available at DRDC-Valcartier, will be used as a visualization tool.
Challenges: The challenges are on the software level, since current visualization systems are not sufficiently generic to be adapted for use on a large scale. Data management is also a considerable challenge, since simulators typically generate gigs of data.
Applications: The study of the complexity of military systems, as well as biological and medical systems, etc.
Calendar: 2005-2008
Last modification: Nov 15 2007 10:01AM by frioux

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Voyager à travers les mondes virtuels parallèles: simulation interactive en réalité virtuelle
Doctorat
François Rioux
Denis Laurendeau (Directeur)
Problème: Nous voulons fournir aux scientifiques qui font l'étude des systèmes complexes un outil de simulation interactive qui leur permettrait de faciliter la compréhension de leurs systèmes. Le principal problème que nous attaquons est de visualiser et voyager autant spatialement que temporellement à travers différents mondes parallèles générés par le simulateur.
Motivation: Les systèmes étudiés sont de plus en plus complexes et il y a une nécessité de les comprendre afin de mieux les opérer. La simulation s'avère ainsi un outil approprié, car elle permet de découvrir différents comportements et caractéristiques spécifiques. Il y a toutefois plusieurs problèmes, dont la visualisation et la gestion des données.
Approche: Nous allons développer un framework logiciel générique qui permettra de visualiser les données, les réorganiser, faire de l'analyse de paramètres et voyager à travers les différents mondes virtuels. Comme outil de visualisation, nous allons utiliser un environnement de réalité virtuelle de type CAVE, disponible au RDDC-Valcartier.
Défis: Les défis sont surtout au niveau logiciel, car les systèmes de visualisation actuels ne sont pas suffisament génériques pour être utilisables à grande échelle. La gestion des données consiste également une problèmatique considérable, car les simulateurs génèrent typiquement des gigs de données.
Applications: Étude de la complexité des systèmes militaires, biologiques, médicaux, etc.
Calendrier: 2005-2008
Dernière modification: Nov 15 2007 10:01AM par frioux

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés