CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Skeleton-based segmentation and description of articulate object cyclic movements from video sequences
Masters
Sébastien Quirion
Robert Bergevin (Supervisor)
Problem: The recognition of activities by a computer vision system has been the subject of several research projects over the past few years and several interesting solutions have been proposed. However, the majority of this research has led to solutions which are based on the hypothesis that there is only one activity in the analyzed video sequence. In a real application, be it for a surveillance system located in an airport or an assistance system for the elderly, the analyzed video sequences can include a large number of activities which are carried out one after the other (ex. walking, running, then waving hello). We thus propose that the activities be extracted automatically from a video sequence using the information provided by a skeleton model representing the temporal evolution of a human being or other articulated object. Our method can be applied to any form of skeleton described in terms of joints linked by straight-line segments. We can thus provide sequences comprising but a single activity to the activity recognition algorithms, thereby fulfilling their first hypothesis.
Approach: The proposed approach is based on a periodicity analysis of 1D signals. This allows us to use the theories of signal treatment, an area which is much better understood than that of temporal segmentation of video sequences. Our approach can be divided into four steps. First, among all signals which can be acquired from a skeleton sequence (ex. angle between two joints of the skeleton at each time, speed from the centroide of all joints, X position of a joint at each time, etc.), those 1D signals which carry more information concerning the activities carried out by the skeleton must be identified. Secondly, an algorithm enabling a robust segmentation of a 1D signal into cyclic parts must be developed. Thereafter, an algorithm must be developed which allows the segmentations obtained to be combined on all retained signals so as to obtain a unique segmentation for the treated video sequence. The final step involves providing a description of the activities isolated by the segmentation so as to indicate which signals contribute to each activity and in what proportion they contribute to these activities.
Challenges: Even though this may seem very simple for a human being, the automatic segmentation of a video sequence into activities involves several difficulties. In order to be able to efficiently segment videos showing people, the proposed system must be robust to the small variations which a person can introduce into the different cycles of a certain activity. The system must also take into account the possibility for a person, or other articulated object, to superpose several activities (such as walking while waving). Moreover, in order not to limit the application possibilities, the system must take into account the noise of the entrance signals. This noise can be visually translated as the poor position of a skeleton with respect to the position of the subject in the original image. Depending on the adjustment process of the skeleton, this noise can have several origins. For example, the noise can come from the background subtraction process which provides a deformed silhouette or from an adjustment process of a skeleton onto a silhouette, which made lead to a poor interpretation of a silhouette and thereby adjusting an erroneous skeleton. The system must have a strong robustness towards this almost inevitable noise in the video sequences. Finally, another main challenge involves ensuring the validation of the developed algorithms.
Applications: This research project will provide robust descriptors to classification systems and activity recognition systems. The original contribution here involves the extraction of characteristics for static recognition of shapes applied to movement analysis.
Calendar: January 2004 - August 2005
Last modification: Sep 28 2007 1:22PM by squirion

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Segmentation et description des mouvements cycliques d’objets articulés à partir de séquences vidéos via une représentation squelettique de l’objet
Maîtrise
Sébastien Quirion
Robert Bergevin (Directeur)
Problème: La reconnaissance d’activités par un système de vision numérique fait l’objet de plusieurs recherches depuis quelques années et plusieurs y ont déjà apporté des solutions intéressantes. Toutefois, dans la majorité de ces recherches, les solutions proposées fonctionnent sous l’hypothèse qu’il n’y a qu’une activité dans la séquence vidéo analysée. Par contre, dans une application réelle, que ce soit pour un système de surveillance localisé dans un aéroport ou dans un système d’assistance aux personnes âgées, les séquences vidéos analysées peuvent comporter un grand nombre d’activités exécutées les unes après les autres (ex.: marcher, courir, puis saluer). Nous nous proposons donc d’extraire automatiquement les activités d’une séquence vidéo en utilisant l’information fournie par un modèle de squelette représentant l’évolution temporelle d’un être humain ou d’un autre objet articulé. Notre méthode s’appliquera à n’importe quel format de squelette décrit en terme de joints reliés par des segments de droites. Nous pourrons donc fournir des séquences ne comportant qu’une seule activité aux algorithmes de reconnaissance d’activités, remplissant ainsi leur hypothèse de départ.
Approche: L’approche proposée est basée sur une analyse de périodicité de signaux 1D. Cela nous permet d’utiliser des théories propres au traitement de signal, un domaine largement plus exploré que celui de la segmentation temporelle de séquences vidéos. Notre approche se divise en quatre étapes. Dans un premier temps, nous devons identifier quels signaux 1D, de ceux pouvant être déduits d’une séquence de squelettes (ex. : angle entre deux joints du squelette à chaque temps, vitesse du centroïde de tous les joints, position en X d’un joint à chaque temps, etc. ), portent le plus d’information quant aux activités effectuées par le squelette. La deuxième étape consiste à élaborer un algorithme permettant une segmentation robuste d’un signal 1D en parties cycliques. Suite à cette étape, nous devons élaborer un algorithme permettant de combiner les segmentations obtenues sur tous les signaux retenus afin d’obtenir une segmentation unique pour la séquence vidéo traitée. L’étape finale consiste à fournir une description des activités isolées par notre segmentation de façon à exprimer quels signaux contribuent à chaque activité et dans quelles proportions.
Défis: Bien que cela soit très simple pour un être humain, la segmentation automatique en activités d’une séquence vidéo comporte plusieurs difficultés. Afin de pouvoir segmenter efficacement des vidéos montrant un sujet humain, notre système devra être robuste aux petites variations qu’un être humain peut introduire dans différents cycles d’une même activité. Il devra aussi tenir compte de la possibilité pour un être humain, ou un autre objet articulé de superposer plusieurs activités (tel que marcher en saluant). De plus, afin de ne pas limiter ses possibilités d’application, notre système devra tenir compte du bruit dans les signaux d’entrée. Ce bruit se traduit visuellement par un mauvais positionnement du squelette par rapport à la position du sujet dans l’image d’origine. Tout dépendant du processus d’ajustement du squelette, ce bruit peut avoir plusieurs origines. Par exemple, il peut provenir d’un processus de soustraction d’arrière-plan qui fournira une silhouette difforme ou encore d’un processus d’ajustement d’un squelette sur une silhouette, qui peut mal interpréter une silhouette et y ajuster un squelette erroné. Notre système devra donc faire preuve d’une grande robustesse face à ce bruit quasi-inévitable dans nos séquences. Finalement, un défi de taille sera d’assurer la validation des algorithmes développés.
Applications: Notre projet de recherche fournira des descripteurs robustes aux systèmes de classification et de reconnaissance d'activités. Notre contribution originale se situe au niveau de l'extraction des caractéristiques pour la reconnaissance statistique des formes appliquée à l'analyse de mouvement.
Calendrier: Janvier 2004 – Août 2005
Dernière modification: Sep 28 2007 1:22PM par squirion

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés