CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Conceptual modeling of an object-oriented software architecture for the control unit of a second generation SEMAC simulator
Masters
Jean-Philippe Shields
Denis Laurendeau (Supervisor)
Problem: Simulation (numerical analysis of a problem) is a widely used tool in research due to the difficulty involved in continually being able to test and observe real reactions of prototypes. However, with the increasing realism and complexity of models, current computers are no longer able to adequately respond and the time required to execute simulations is continually increasing.
Motivation: Certain needs, such as those with material in a loop (HWIL), drive us to strive for a real-time simulation which reacts with the material possessing very precise time constraints. In this case, the simulations must be accelerated.
Approach: In the current case, the approach adopted involves the parallelization of the sequential simulation engine through the addition of new abilities such as parallelization (the possibility to execute on a machine possessing more than one processor) and/or distribution (the possibility to execute on more than one computer, linked by a network).
Challenges: The parallelization of a sequential simulation engine is not particularly easy to achieve due to certain constraints such as the minimization of impacts (changes) on the current software architecture of the simulator.
Applications: There are numerous applications for this type of simulation engine. One need only create models corresponding to our situation. Currently, the engine is mainly used for military applications to determine which targets represent a definite threat.
Calendar: Fall 2003 - Fall 2005
Support: With the collaboration of DRDC-RDDC Valcartier
Last modification: Sep 28 2007 1:49PM by jshields

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Modélisation conceptuelle d'une architecture logicielle orientée-objet pour l'unité de contrôle de 2e génération du simulateur SEMAC
Maîtrise
Jean-Philippe Shields
Denis Laurendeau (Directeur)
Problème: La simulation (analyse numérique d'un problème) est un outil grandement utilisé en recherche compte tenu de la difficulté de toujours pouvoir tester et d'observer les réactions réelles de prototypes. Cependant avec des modèles de plus en plus réalistes et complexes, on arrive à dépasser les capacités des ordinateurs actuels et les simulations sont de plus en plus longues à s'exécuter.
Motivation: Parfois certains besoins, comme avec du matériel dans la boucle (HWIL), nous pousse à vouloir que l'exécution d'une simulation se fasse en temps réelle en réaction avec le matériel qui possède des contraintes de temps bien précises. Il faut donc trouver des solutions pour accélérer les simulations.
Approche: Dans le cas présent, l'approche adoptée est de paralléliser l'engin de simulation séquentiel en lui ajoutant de nouvelles capacités dont la parallélisation (la possibilité de s'exécuter sur une machine possédant plus d'un processeur) et/ou la distribution (la possibilité de s'exécuter sur plus d'un ordinateur reliés par un réseau).
Défis: La parralélisation d'un engin de simulation séquentiel n'est pas particulièrement facile à accomplir compte tenu de certaines contraintes comme la minimisation des impacts (changements) sur l'architecture logicielle actuelle du simulateur.
Applications: Les applications auxquelles serviront l'engin de simulation peuvent être presque infinies, ils suffit de créer des modèles correspondant à notre situation. Présentement, l'engin est principalement utilisé à des fins militaires pour évaluer les conditions d'engagements entre cibles et menaces.
Calendrier: automne 2003 - automne 2005
Support: Avec la collaboration du DRDC Valcartier
Dernière modification: Sep 28 2007 1:49PM par jshields

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés