CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Active stereo pair system calibration
Ph.D.
Éric Samson
Denis Laurendeau (Supervisor)
Marc Parizeau (Co-supervisor)
Problem:

The goal of stereo vision is to extract depth information of a scene using two different points of view. Generally this is achieved using two cameras placed side by side. Research on stereo vision has mainly focused on the processing of images taken by this kind of sensor. A lot of work has been done on the matching problem, reconstruction and high-level understanding, for example. Few studies, however, have focused on the basis of a stereo system : the stereo sensor.

In this context, a new versatile stereo pair called the agile stereo pair (ASP) has been developed by the Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory (CVSL) with the collaboration of the Robotics Laboratory of the Mechanical Engineering Department of Laval University. This new sensor is able to dynamically orient its two cameras in a quick and accurate fashion as well as continuously change its baseline. Moreover, the ASP has a compact design.

The depth information extraction with a stereo pair requires the knowledge of the position of the two cameras relative to each other. This is referred to as the extrinsic parameters. With a standard stereo pair, these parameters are estimated by a unique calibration procedure. Due to the mobility of the cameras of the ASP, the extrinsic parameters are ever changing. The classical approach thus cannot be applied to the new sensor. A new procedure allowing the determination of the extrinsic parameters at any given time must therefore be developed in order to use the ASP for depth information extraction.

Approach:

The estimation of extrinsic parameters at any given time is performed using a model of the mechanical camera orienting system. The current camera position is thus calculated from a reading of the position encoder of the motors, the model of the mechanical orienting system and the parameters of that model. The latter are estimated by a unique calibration procedure.

Due to the accuracy the mechanical orienting system, it is expected that the extrinsic parameters obtained using this method will be good enough to obtain high quality 3D measurements with the ASP.

Challenges:

Developing a calibration procedure enabling an accurate estimation of the parameters of the mechanical camera orienting system. The quality of the 3D measurements made by the ASP is directly related to the accuracy of these parameters.

Applications:

Mobile robotics, Security, Target tracking, 3D modeling, Motion capture, Human-machine interactions

Expected results:

3D measurements with accuracy comparable to those of standard stereo pairs

Calendar: September 2002 - December 2005
Last modification: Oct 1 2007 11:28AM by esamson

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Calibrage d’une paire de caméras stéréoscopique active
Doctorat
Éric Samson
Denis Laurendeau (Directeur)
Marc Parizeau (Codirecteur)
Problème:

L'objectif de la "vision stéréoscopique" est d'extraire l'information de profondeur d'une scène en l'observant de deux points de vue différents. Pour y arriver, on utilise en général deux caméras placées côte à côte. Beaucoup de travaux ont été réalisés par rapport au traitement des images acquises à l'aide de ce type de capteur. Ils portent principalement sur les problèmes d'appariement, de reconstruction, et d'interprétation de haut niveau. Toutefois, peu de chercheurs se sont penchés sur l'amélioration de l'élément de base d'un système stéréo : le capteur.

C'est pour palier au manque de capteur stéréoscopique versatile dont pourraient bénéficier plusieurs secteurs du domaine de la vision numérique que le Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques (LVSN) et le Laboratoire de Robotique du Département de génie mécanique de l'Université Laval ont développé conjointement la paire stéréo agile (PSA). Ce nouveau capteur permet d'orienter dynamiquement ses deux caméras de façon rapide, précise et indépendante en plus d'offrir un ajustement continu de son baseline. Il présente de surcroît un design compact.

L'extraction de l'information de profondeur à l'aide d'une paire stéréo nécessite la connaissance de la position relative des deux caméras, appelés les paramètres extrinsèques. Avec une paire stéréo standard, ces paramètres sont déterminés lors d'une étape unique de calibrage. Étant donné la mobilité des caméras de la PSA, cette approche ne peut être utilisée pour ce nouveau capteur. L'utilisation de la PSA est donc conditionnelle à la mise au point d'une méthode permettant de déterminer la position relative de ses caméras à tout moment.

Approche:

Pour estimer les paramètres extrinsèques de la PSA à tout instant, un modèle du système mécanique d'orientation des caméras est utilisé. La position courante des caméras est donc calculée à partir d'une lecture des encodeurs de position des moteurs, du modèle du système mécanique et des paramètres de ce modèle. Ces derniers sont estimés lors d'une étape unique de calibrage.

La précision du système mécanique utilisé permet de présumer que les paramètres extrinsèques calculés avec cette méthode seront de qualité suffisante pour obtenir des mesures 3D de précision.

Défis:

Développer une procédure de calibrage permettant de déterminer les paramètres du modèle mécanique avec le plus d'exactitude possible. La qualité des mesures 3D obtenues avec la paire stéréo agile dépend directement de la précision de ces paramètres.

Applications:

Robotique mobile, Sécurité, Suivi de cible, Modélisation 3D, Capture de mouvements, Interactions homme-machine

Résultats attendus:

Des mesures 3D d'une précision comparable à celles d'une paire stéréo standard.

Calendrier: septembre 2002 - décembre 2005
Dernière modification: Oct 1 2007 11:28AM par esamson

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés