CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Virtual reality system for a CAVE infrastructure
Masters
Richard El Hachem
Denis Laurendeau (Supervisor)
Approach: A CAVE (Cave Automatic Virtual Environment) is an immersive virtual reality environment where projectors are directed towards four, five or six walls of a cube which is the size of a room. The user can move and navigate within this environment with movement sensors and special glasses which allow him to perceive objects in three dimensions and move around these objects. The development of the software of such a system includes the following components: data of virtual scenes and scenarios, graphic representation in stereo with a perspective correction for the CAVE walls, acquisition of the movement and interactions of the user, configuration tools and system start-up.

Traditional virtual reality systems use costly software and computation platforms, since this system is very complex to create and their application is limited. However, with the increasing popularity of video games, graphic engines which are more powerful than the virtual reality systems have been combined with low-cost working platforms to provide very affordable systems for the consumer. Thus, four licences for a video game and four high performance PCs can provide an impressive simulation at a fraction of the cost of traditional systems.

In this research project we present a virtual reality system based on the adaptation of the video game Unreal Tournament 2004 for a CAVE infrastructure. Our objective is to develop a software system which is pwoerful, flexible and affordable using low-cost platforms and allowing an interface with the CAVE infrastructure and other virtual reality components.

Calendar: September 2005 -
Last modification: Oct 31 2007 9:48AM by hachem

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Un système de réalité virtuelle pour une infrastructure CAVE
Maîtrise
Richard El Hachem
Denis Laurendeau (Directeur)
Approche: Un CAVE (Cave Automatic Virtual Environment) est un environnement de réalité virtuelle immersif où les projecteurs sont dirigés sur quatre, cinq ou six des murs d’un cube de la taille d’une pièce. L’usager peut se déplacer et naviguer dans cet environnement avec des capteurs de mouvement et des lunettes spéciales qui lui permettront de percevoir les objets en trois dimensions et aussi de se déplacer autour d’eux. Le développement du logiciel d’un tel système comporte les composantes suivantes : les données des scènes virtuelles et les scénarios, l’affichage graphique en stéréo avec correction de perspective pour les murs, la capture du mouvement et des interactions de l’usager, les outils de configuration et de démarrage du système.

Les systèmes de réalité virtuelle traditionnels utilisent des logiciels et des plates-formes de calcul très dispendieuses, dû au fait que ce type de système est complexe à construire et que leur application est peu répandue. Cependant, avec la popularité des jeux vidéo, des engins graphiques plus puissants que les logiciels de systèmes virtuels combinés à des plates-formes de travail disponibles à faible coût pour les consommateurs ont rendu ces systèmes très abordables. Ainsi, quatre licences d’un jeu vidéo et quatre PC de haut de gamme peuvent fournir une simulation impressionnante à une fraction du prix des systèmes conventionnels.

Nous présentons un système de réalité virtuelle basé sur une adaptation du jeu vidéo Unreal Tournament 2004 à une infrastructure CAVE. Notre objectif est de développer un système logiciel puissant, flexible et peu coûteux utilisant des plates-formes à faible coût et permettant de s’interfacer à une infrastructure CAVE et d’autres composantes de réalité virtuelle.

Calendrier: septembre 2005 -
Dernière modification: Oct 31 2007 9:48AM par hachem

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés