CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Generic Recoginition of the Main Object in a 2D Scene by Studying the Relationships Between the Contour Primitives
Masters
Alexandre Filiatrault
Robert Bergevin (Supervisor)
Problem: Generic recognition without a priori knowledge of the subjects in an image has been an area of interest for several years in computer vision. The difficulty lies in finding the specific characteristics of a real object which differentiates this object from its immediate surroundings. These characteristics often differ from one image to another, which leads us to use more than one type of discrimination at a time to improve the segmentation and better isolate the contour of the main object in a scene with respect to the interior of this object and the background of the scene.
Motivation: An ideal generic computer vision two dimensional recognition system includes three essential elements: the segmentation of the regions of interest, the categorization of these regions into entities according to global characteristics and the association of these entities with one of those in an already established bank of knowledge. Each of these three steps is essential to ensure that the system functions properly. The goal of this research project is to contribute to the improvement of the segmentation step.
Approach: This project uses the SAKE methodology which consists in:
  • Defining the expected results for each type of image.
  • Choosing the images on which the algorithm will be tested.
  • Choosing subjective criteria for evaluating solutions.
  • Determining formal mathematical criteria for evaluating solutions.
  • Designing, implementing and applying the resolution algorithms required to solve the problem on the chosen images.
  • Rating the solutions obtained and comparing these with formal ratings.
  • Modifying the resolution algorithm if necessary.

The approach proposed for identifying the important parts of an image rely mainly on the study of the contour primitives. The procedure consists in using the characteristics of these primitives so as to regroup them and then give them an order of importance. Regrouping data includes the colour, position, orientation and length, and for the primitive of an arc of a circle it also includes the radius.

The treatment studied herein proceeds in an iterative manner so as to converge to a solution where all of the primitives are well-balanced in their relationships with the others. This solution must make the best possible discrimination so as to exclude a maximum number of non-desirable primitives, representing textures or parts of the background, while keeping a large majority of data enabling the identification and characterization of the main object. This approach is preferred in view of being combined with others to obtain superior results with the help of complex input images. It will then be possible to characterize the objects found and identify them with the help of a bank of knowledge.

Challenges: The inherent challenges in such an approach are numerous and complex. Algorithms must be developed which efficiently isolate the main object of a scene while keeping in mind that the characteristics which are common to the primitives to be kept can differ largely from one image to another. One must also take into account the noise present in any computer image, the limited resolution of the images, the amount of memory available in the treatment tool and the speed of the computation tool. Another challenge involves the solution of problems related to the slow changes in intensity. These are less inclined in producing primitives and can thus hinder treatments.
Applications: The development of a mechanism enabling the search for a main object is an important step in generic recognition without prior knowledge. This ability to efficiently automatically recognize ones environment is very useful in areas such as robotics and virtual reality.
Calendar: September 2004 - December 2007
Last modification: Oct 1 2007 1:40PM by afiliatr

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Reconnaissance générique de l’objet principal d’une scène 2D par l’étude des relations entre les primitives de contour
Maîtrise
Alexandre Filiatrault
Robert Bergevin (Directeur)
Problème: La reconnaissance générique sans connaissance à priori sur les sujets d’une image est un domaine d’intérêt de longue date en vision numérique. La difficulté est de trouver les caractéristiques propres d’un objet réel qui le différencient de son entourage immédiat. Or ces caractéristiques diffèrent souvent d’une image à l’autre, ce qui nous pousse à vouloir utiliser plus d’un type de discrimination à la fois pour améliorer la segmentation et mieux isoler le contour de l’objet principal d’une scène par rapport à l’intérieur de cet objet et le fond de scène.
Motivation: Un système de reconnaissance générique « idéal » en vision numérique en deux dimensions comporte trois éléments essentiels, soient la segmentation de régions d’intérêt, la catégorisation de ces dernières en entités selon ses caractéristiques globales et l’association des entités ainsi trouvées avec une de celles d’une banque de connaissance établie à priori. Ces trois étapes étant chacune essentielles à un bon fonctionnement, le but de ce projet est de contribuer à l’avancement des connaissances sur l’étape de segmentation.
Approche: Le projet s’appuie sur la méthodologie SAFE qui consiste à :
  • Définir les résultats attendus pour chaque type d’image.
  • Choisir les images sur lesquelles l’algorithme sera testé
  • Choisir des critères subjectifs d’évaluation de solution.
  • Déterminer des critères formels, mathématiques d’évaluation de solution.
  • Concevoir, implanter et appliquer les algorithmes de résolution nécessaires à la résolution du problème sur les images choisies.
  • Donner des scores aux solutions obtenues et les comparer aux scores formels.
  • Modifier l’algorithme de résolution si nécessaire.

L’approche proposée pour identifier les parties importantes d’une images s’appuie principalement sur l’étude des primitives de contour. Elle consiste en l’utilisation des caractéristiques de ces primitives en vue de les regrouper et ensuite leur donner une mesure d’importance. Les données de regroupement incluent la couleur, la position, l’orientation, la longueur et le rayon dans le cas d’une primitive d’arc de cercle.

La suite du traitement à l’étude procède de façon itérative en vue de converger vers une solution où toutes les primitives sont en équilibre dans leurs relations avec les autres. Cette solution doit faire une discrimination la plus forte possible pour à la fois exclure un maximum de primitives non désirées, représentant des textures ou des parties d’arrière scène, et garder la grande majorité des données permettant d’identifier et de caractériser l’objet principal. Cette approche est réalisée en vue d’être combinée à d’autres pour obtenir des résultats supérieurs à l’aide d’images d’entrées complexes. Par la suite il sera possible de caractériser les objets ainsi trouvés et les identifier à l’aide d’une base de connaissance.

Défis: Les défis inhérents à une telle approche sont nombreux et complexes. Il faut mettre au point des algorithmes discriminants qui isolent efficacement l’objet principal d’une scène tout en gardant à l’esprit que les caractéristiques qui unissent les primitives à garder diffèrent grandement d’une image à l’autre. Il faut aussi tenir compte du bruit présent dans toute image numérique, la résolution limitée des images, la quantité de mémoire présente dans l’outil de traitement ainsi que la vitesse des outils de calcul. Un autre défi est celui de résoudre les problèmes reliés aux changements lents d’intensité. Ceux-ci sont moins enclins à produire des primitives et peuvent donc nuire aux traitements.
Applications: La mise au point d’un mécanisme de recherche d’objet principal est un pas important dans le processus de reconnaissance générique sans connaissance à priori. Cette habilité à reconnaître efficacement son environnement de façon automatique est très utile dans des domaines tels la robotique et la réalité virtuelle.
Calendrier: septembre 2004 - décembre 2007
Dernière modification: Oct 1 2007 1:40PM par afiliatr

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés