CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Fusion of clinical information for segmentation purposes:
Application to prostate segmentation for curietherapy
Ph.D.
Geoffroy Rivet-Sabourin
Denis Laurendeau (Supervisor)
Problem: Prostate cancer is the cancer which affects the greatest number of Canadian men. For many years, research has been devoted to developing the earliest possible detection methods for this type of cancer as well as less and less invasive treatment procedures. It is within this context that prostate cancer treatment using curietherapy is investigated. This method consists in implanting permanent radioactive sources inside the prostate.
Approach: The clinical protocol consists in taking a series of ultrasonography images so as to determine the volume of the prostate. A computerized system will then use this volume to calculate the optimum positions for the radioactive sources to enable the entire prostate to be irradiated, while protecting the organs at risk (bladder and rectum). The patient is then admitted to the operating block to have the sources implanted. The sources are implanted under ultrasonographic guidance. Before leaving the operating block, the radio-oncologist traces over the contours of the prostate on the ultrasonography one last time. Then 30 days later, the radio-oncologist uses the computerized tomography (CT) images to validate the position of the sources and the quality of the treatment. The difficulty of this last step is the precision with which the radio-oncologist can identify the prostate contour. The literature and our experiments indicate an inter-operator variation of 30% on the volume generated by the contours of the doctor.

The method proposed consists in using the information gathered during the clinical protocol (contours on the ultrasonography images, positions of the sources) so as to produce a series of initial contours on the CT images 30 days after they have been implanted. The method is initially based on the positions of the sources implanted in the prostate to align the ultrasonography contours on the CT images. The initial contours are deformed image by image based on the positions of the sources and based on the image gradient (active contour). This involves a series of deformations by active contours, where each deformation step is followed by a step involving the smoothing of the 3D surface.

The algorithm produces a series of contours which are as close as possible to the final contour which will be traced by the doctor. A clinical study is currently underway to validate the algorithm. A data base of twelve patients who have been subjected to prostate curietherapy has been established. These patients were referred to five doctors. This study will be able to evaluate if the use of the algorithm enables a reduction in both the intra- and inter-operator variability.

Last modification: Nov 19 2007 10:24AM by grivet

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Fusion d'information clinique pour l'aide à la segmentation :
Application à la segmentation de la prostate pour la curiethérapie
Doctorat
Geoffroy Rivet-Sabourin
Denis Laurendeau (Directeur)
Problème: Le cancer de la prostate est celui qui affecte le plus les hommes canadiens. Depuis de nombreuses années la recherche se porte sur des moyens de détection de plus en plus précoces de ce cancer ainsi que des modes d’interventions de moins en moins invasifs. C’est dans cette optique que le traitement du cancer de la prostate par curiethérapie est employé. Cette méthode consiste à implanter des sources radioactives permanentes à l’intérieur de la prostate.
Approche: Le protocole clinique consiste d’abord à prendre une série d’images d’échographie afin de déterminer le volume de la prostate. Ce volume servira à un système informatique pour calculer les positions optimales des sources permettant d’irradier toute la prostate et de protéger les organes à risque (vessie et rectum). Le patient est ensuite admis au bloc opératoire pour l’implantation des sources. L’implantation se fait sous un guidage d’échographie. Avant de quitter le bloc opératoire le radio-oncologue trace une dernière fois les contours de la prostate sur l’échographie. La dernière étape, 30 jours suivant l’intervention, le radio-oncologue utilise les images de tomodensitométrie (CT) pour valider la position des sources et la qualité du traitement. La difficulté à cette étape est la précision avec laquelle le radio-oncologue peut identifier le contour de la prostate. La littérature et nos expérimentations rapportent une variation inter-opérateur de 30% sur le volume engendré par les contours du médecin.

La méthode proposée consiste à utiliser les informations recueillies au cours du protocole clinique (contours sur les images d’échographie, et les positions de sources) afin de produire une série de contours initiaux sur les images de tomodensitométrie 30 jours suivant l’intervention. La méthode se base initialement sur les positions des sources implantées dans la prostate pour aligner les contours d’échographie sur les images de CT. Les contours initiaux sont déformés image par image en se basant sur les positions des sources et sur le gradient de l’image (contour actif). Il s’agit d’une succession de déformations par des contours actifs entrecoupées par des lissages de la surface 3D.

L’algorithme produit une série de contours qui se doivent d’être le plus près possible du contour final qui sera tracé par le médecin. Une étude clinique est actuellement en cours pour valider l’algorithme. Une base de données de douze patients ayant subi une curiethérapie de la prostate a été constituée. Ces patients ont été soumis à cinq médecins. Cette étude permettra de mesurer si l’utilisation de l’algorithme permettra de diminuer la variabilité intra et inter-opérateur.

Dernière modification: Nov 19 2007 10:24AM par grivet

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés