CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Tracking of pedestrians using a system of agile stereo cameras
Masters
Louis Buteau-Vaillancourt
Denis Laurendeau (Supervisor)
Problem: Our society (both locally and internationally) faces a larger diversity of attacks on our properties (buildings and people). We are searching for new ways to protect property and increase security. One avenue of research which is attracting attention is computer vision automated surveillance. Currently available systems suffer from the inability of cameras presently in place to extract precise 3D data as well as track subjects of interest, and thus a more detailed analysis and study of this problem is required.
Motivation: This study is a continuation of the MONNET project which is nearing completion, and will add a node formed by a pair of agile stereo cameras. The MONNET project is already able to extract information from an observed scene, but the system is very static. With the addition of a stereo pair, the system will be less static and will be able to react to its environment.
Approach: The approach involves detecting a subject in the field of view of the cameras and to extract the maximum amount of information while viewing the common field of view. When the subject leaves the common field of view, the system estimates the trajectory of the subject and the current position so as to redirect itself towards the subject and continue the tracking. This will be continued until the limit of the cameras’ movement is reached.
Challenges: One of the major challenges of this project is background subtraction. Since the camera is changing its position during the tracking, the background will also change (it will be static and then abruptly change). Different techniques will be used to address this problem. Another important aspect which must not be neglected is the fact that during the movement of the camera, if the estimation of the position of the subject is incorrect and the subject is “lost”, one must rapidly recover from this error in order to continue tracking the subject.
Applications: The main application of this research will be in surveillance systems, when a suspicious event occurs, one could continue the tracking for a longer period of time and with greater precision and detail so as to follow the person who has carried out the suspicious action.
Calendar: September 2004 - April 2006.
Last modification: Sep 28 2007 1:46PM by lbvailla

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Suivi de personne par un système de caméras stéréo agiles
Maîtrise
Louis Buteau-Vaillancourt
Denis Laurendeau (Directeur)
Problème: Notre société (locale et internationale) fait face à une plus grande diversité d’attaque à la propriété (bâtiments, personnes, …). Nous sommes à la recherche de nouvelles façons de faire de la surveillance ainsi que d’augmenter la sécurité. Une des voies de recherche en expansion est la surveillance automatisée par vision numérique. Les systèmes actuels souffrent de l’incapacité des caméras actuellement en place, d’extraire de l’information juste sur la 3e dimension ainsi que de faire un suivi sur un sujet intéressant et nécessitant une plus grande attention / analyse.
Motivation: Ce travail s’ajoute au projet MONNET, qui approche la complétion, en y ajoutant un nœud formé d’une paire de caméras stéréo agiles. Le projet est déjà capable d’extraire de l’information de la scène observée, mais le système est très statique. Avec l’ajout d’une paire stéréo le système sera moins statique et réagira à son environnement.
Approche: L’approche employée sera de détecter un sujet dans le champ de vue des caméra et d’y extraire le maximum d’informations durant son parcours dans le champ de vue commun. Lorsque le sujet quittera la champ de vue commun, le système estimera sa trajectoire et sa position actuelle afin de se rediriger vers le sujet pour le suivre à nouveau. Cela se fera jusqu’à la limite du déplacement des caméras.
Défis: L’un des défis majeur est la soustraction du fond. Comme la caméra va changer de position au long du « tracking », le fond va aussi changer (sera statique et changera brusquement). Différentes techniques devront être utilisées afin de contourner le problème. Un autre point important qu’il ne faut pas négliger, est lors du déplacement de la caméra, si l’estimation de la position du sujet est erronée et que nous le perdons, l’on doit récupérer rapidement de cette erreur, afin de toujours suivre le sujet.
Applications: L’application principale serait dans un système de surveillance, lorsqu’un évènement douteux se produit, l’on pourrait continuer à suivre plus longtemps et avec plus de précision / détails la personne qui a engendré l’évènement douteux.
Calendrier: septembre 2004 - avril 2006.
Dernière modification: Sep 28 2007 1:46PM par lbvailla

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés