CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Categorization and perceptual regrouping: Methodology and segmentation
Postdoctoral project
Vénérée Randrianarisoa
Robert Bergevin (Supervisor)
Problem: Research in cognitive psychology has established that even in the absence of high level knowledge of the observed scene, the human visual system naturally organizes the elements according to the laws referred to as the laws of perceptual grouping. Thus, the human visual system tends to group together two elements which are symmetrical, similar, close, parallel, etc… David Lowe derived his theory of non-accidentalness from this concept. This theory stipulates that primitives or groups of primitives having perceptual characteristics such as similarity, parallelism, symmetry, etc… are not presented randomly in the image but that they are derived from the same object or from a group of objects in the scene. The goal of perceptual grouping is thus to exploit the perceptual characteristics so as to extract the structural organization which represents an object or a group of perceptually significant objects. Most existing perceptual grouping methods use unitary or binary perceptual characteristics. Moreover, they follow an ascending hierarchy: thus the most prominent primitives respecting the laws of perceptual grouping are grouped to form a group which is supposed to be perceptually significant. The problem which arises in these approaches is that they do not propose global criteria which allow the evaluation of the global quality of the perceptually prominent group, since they essentially use local criteria related to the local perceptual characteristics. Moreover, very few studies using global criteria propose methods which treat large groups, i.e. formed by a large number of primitives. Most studies deal with simple groups such as convex groups, rectangles, simple polygons…
Motivation: Our approach differs from these approaches in that we propose to determine a set of global perceptual criteria which will allow a category of objects to be extracted. These criteria will enable the evaluation of the quality of the segmentation in order to determine if the group formed is perceptually significant and if it has a good perceptual shape.
Approach: Our approach consists in: (i) determining optimum criteria of an abstract object category by subjective human observations, (ii) forming global quality criteria defined by a human operator, (iii) extracting the primitives which optimize these global quality criteria. To determine these global criteria, we will use a methodology referred to as SAFE (Subjectivity And Formalism Explicitly). The goal of this methodology is to validate the judgement derived from formal calculations which we refer to as FGT (Formal Ground Truth) by human judgement which we call SGT (Subjective Ground Truth). Thus, the comparison of subjective human judgement with formal judgement will enable the use of a subjective ground truth which is useful for the evaluation and validation of the proposed criteria and algorithm. In order to implement the SAFE methodology within this project, we have developed a new tool, SAFE-T, with a Master’s student, Jean-François Bernier. This interactive tool will allow groups consisting of constant curvature primitives (circular arcs and straight line segments) to be manually and automatically generated.
Challenges: The detection and categorization of objects should involve the same criteria as the visual human system to classify an object as belonging to a given category. The extraction of a perceptually significant group (gestalt) is an important challenge but the perceptual evaluation of this group is even more challenging as it entails the evaluation of its proper shape represented in cognitive psychology by the “prägnanz”.
Applications: We will apply our approach in researching global perceptual criteria to find the silhouette of a category of objects, in this case multi-part objects. However, the approach could then be further refined to deal with the categorization of more specific objects. One of these applications is content-based image retrieval (CBIR).
Expected results: The results expected from this project are the definition and validation of a set of global perceptual criteria for the detection and categorization of multi-part objects.
Calendar: April 2004 - April 2005
Last modification: Oct 1 2007 1:47PM by veneree

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Catégorisation par regroupement perceptuel: Méthodologie et segmentation
Post-doctorat
Vénérée Randrianarisoa
Robert Bergevin (Directeur)
Problème: Les recherches en psychologie cognitive ont établi que même en absence de connaissances de haut niveau de la scène observée, le système visuel humain organise naturellement les éléments selon des lois appelées lois de regroupement perceptuel. Ainsi, le système visuel humain tend à grouper ensemble deux éléments qui sont symétriques, similaires, proches, parallèles, etc. David Lowe en a tiré sa théorie de non-accidentalité. Cette théorie stipule que des primitives ou des groupes de primitives ayant des caractéristiques perceptuelles telles que la similarité, le parallélisme, la symétrie, etc.… ne sont pas présentes par hasard dans l’image mais qu’ils doivent être issus d’un même objet ou d’un ensemble d’objets dans la scène. Le but du regroupement perceptuel est alors d’exploiter ces caractéristiques perceptuelles pour extraire une organisation structurelle qui représenterait un objet ou un groupe d’objets perceptuellement significatif. La plupart des méthodes de regroupement perceptuel existantes utilisent des caractéristiques perceptuelles unaires ou binaires. Par ailleurs, elles suivent une hiérarchie ascendante : ainsi, les primitives les plus saillantes respectant les lois de regroupement perceptuel sont groupées pour former un groupe qui devrait être perceptuellement significatif. Le problème qui apparaît dans ces approches est qu’elles ne proposent pas des critères globaux permettant d’évaluer la qualité globale du groupe perceptuellement saillant, car elles utilisent essentiellement des critères locaux liés aux caractéristiques perceptuelles locales. Par ailleurs, très peu de travaux utilisant des critères globaux proposent des méthodes qui traitent des groupes larges, c’est à dire formés par un grand nombre de primitives, la plupart traitent de groupes simples tels que des groupes convexes, des rectangles, des polygones…
Motivation: Notre approche diffère essentiellement de ces approches de par le fait que nous proposons de déterminer un ensemble de critères perceptuels globaux qui permettent d’extraire une catégorie d’objets. Ces critères permettront d’évaluer la qualité de la segmentation afin de déterminer si le groupe formé est perceptuellement significatif d’une part, et s’il a une bonne forme perceptuelle d’autre part.
Approche: Notre approche consiste à déterminer des critères optimum d’un objet multi-parties par des observations subjectives humaines, à formaliser les critères de qualité globaux définis par l’humain, à extraire les primitives qui optimisent ces critères de qualité globaux. Pour déterminer ces critères globaux, nous utilisons une méthodologie appelée méthodologie SAFE (Subjectivity And Formalism Explicitly). Le but de cette méthodologie est de valider le jugement humain que nous appelons SGT (Subjective Ground Truth) par le jugement issu de calculs formels que nous appelons FGT (Formal Ground Truth). Ainsi, la comparaison du jugement subjectif humain à celui du jugement formel permet d’utiliser une vérité-terrain subjective (ground truth) utile pour évaluer et valider l’algorithme proposé. Afin de mettre en oeuvre la méthodologie SAFE dans le cadre du regroupement perceptuel, nous avons mis en place un nouvel outil, SAFE-T, avec un étudiant au deuxième cycle, Jean-François Bernier. Cet outil interactif permet de générer manuellement et automatiquement des groupes formés de primitives à courbure constante (arcs de cercle et segments de droites).
Défis: La catégorisation d’objets devrait utiliser les mêmes critères que le système visuel humain pour classer un objet comme appartenant à un groupe donné. L’extraction d’un groupe perceptuellement significatif (gestalt) est un défi important mais encore plus est l’évaluation perceptuelle de ce groupe, telle que sa bonne forme représentée en psychologie cognitive par le « prägnanz ».
Applications: Nous appliquons notre approche dans la recherche des critères perceptuels globaux pour trouver la silhouette d’une catégorie d’objets, à savoir des objets multi-parties. Toutefois, l’approche pourrait être affinée par la suite vers la catégorisation d’objets plus spécifiques. Une des applications est la recherche d’images par le contenu (CBIR).
Résultats attendus: Les résultats attendus de ce projet sont la définition et la validation d’un ensemble de critères perpectuels globaux afin de catégoriser des objets multi-parties.
Calendrier: avril 2004 - avril 2005
Dernière modification: Oct 1 2007 1:47PM par veneree

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés