CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Automatic segmentation of the bony structure of the shoulder
Masters
Nhat-Tan Nguyen
Denis Laurendeau (Supervisor)
Problem: Many problems in endoprosthesis placement are due to limited pre-operative insight into the patient's state. Most patients have rheumatoid arthrititis, which affects the quality and shape of the bone: often the glenoid cavity at the shoulder blade has receded. Preoperatively, the operation plan must be devised on the basis of 2-D Roentgen images. During surgery, the operation field is very limited, only the articular surface of the scapula is exposed. The patient is positioned on his side, with the affected shoulder pointing upwards, resulting in a downwards slide of the shoulder blade. During surgery, the most commonly used technique is to remove the remaining cartilage, mill the endoprosthesis shape in the trabecular bone, apply a certain amount of bone cement, place the endoprosthesis and insert screws for early fixation. Others approach the operation field from the back side of the patient by splitting the scapula in two pieces. A preferred technique will support the endoprosthesis on the cortical bone, and try to restore a functional position and orientation. Therefore, a custom-sized prosthesis has to be used, and a good view of the shoulder blade is needed.
Motivation: Automatic segmentation of bony structures in MRI angiography datasets is an essential pre-processing step necessary for most visualization and analysis tasks. In order to have a better understanding of the healthy and pathologic arthrosis shoulder, this project will develop a method to segment the structures of the shoulder from MRI datasets.
Approach: Finding suitable techniques for segmenting the scapula and humerus in a bidimensional MRI data-set is a major part of this project. Currently we focus on contours-based segmentation techniques, i.e., first a point of the bone is identified. The bone boundaries are extracted in a second step.
Calendar: September 2003 - September 2005
Last modification: Sep 28 2007 2:44PM by ntnguyen

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Segmentation automatique de la structure osseuse de l’épaule
Maîtrise
Nhat-Tan Nguyen
Denis Laurendeau (Directeur)
Problème: Plusieurs problèmes dans le placement d’endoprothèses sont dus à une compréhension pré-opératoire limitée de l’état du patient. La plupart des patients souffrent de l’arthrite rhumatoïde, ce qui affect la qualité et la forme de l’os en question: souvent la cavité glénoïde de l’omoplate s’est rétractée. Le plan de l’opération doit être planifiée à l’aide d’images Roentgen 2-D. Pendant la chirurgie, l’espace de travail de l’opération est très limité, seule la surface articulaire du scapula est exposée. Le patient est placé sur le côté, avec l’épaule endommagé pointant vers le haut, ce qui entraîne un glissement vers le bas de l’omoplate. Pendant la chirurgie, la technique la plus souvent utilisée implique l’enlèvement du cartilage restant, le moulage de la forme de l’endoprosthèse dans l’os trabeculaire, l’application d’une certaine quantité de ciment d’os, le placement de l’endoprothèse et l’insertion de vis pour une fixation préliminaire. D’autres préfèrent approcher l’espace d’opération du côté arrière du patient en fendant le scapula en deux. La technique préférée est de supporter l’endoprothèse sur l’os corticale et d’essayer de rétablir une position et une orientation fonctionnelles. Une prothèse faite sur mesure est donc nécessaire en plus d’une bonne vue de l’omoplate.
Motivation: : La segmentation automatique des structures osseuses dans les bases de données agiographiques IRM est une étape préliminaire essentielle pour la plupart des tâches de visualisation et d’analyse. Afin d’obtenir une meilleure compréhension de l’épaule en santé et de l’épaule arthrosique pathologique, ce projet développera une méthode pour la segmentation des structures de l’épaule à partir de bases de données de l’IRM.
Approche: Le développement de techniques convenables pour la segmentation du scapula et de l’humerus dans une base de données bidimensionnelle de l’IRM constitue une partie majeure de ce projet. Actuellement nous nous penchons sur des techniques de segmentation basées sur les contours, c’est-à-dire un point de l’os est défini d’abord. Les contours de l’os sont extraits dans une deuxième étape.
Calendrier: septembre 2003 - septembre 2005
Dernière modification: Sep 28 2007 2:44PM par ntnguyen

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés