CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Low-level segmentation and tracking of people with a network of independent cameras
Masters
Nicolas Martel-Brisson
André Zaccarin (Supervisor)
Problem: The detection and tracking of people in interior and exterior environments have been the subject of research and numerous publications for a multitude of applications. The complexity of the task depends on several factors including the type of background (fixed, mobile, evolving…), the quality of segmentation desired (with or without shadow, only the face…) and the complexity of the subject to be tracked (contrasting with the background, immobile, several people in the field of view...).
Motivation: The automation of the video surveillance domain is intrinsically linked to the capacity to detect subjects present in the image. Within the MONNET project (MONNET = Monitoring of Extended Premises: Tracking Pedestrians Using a Network of Loosely Coupled Cameras), we wish to segment the people in the background, follow them from one field of view to another and analyze their movements using a network of cameras where each unit of acquisition and treatment is independent. This independence enables the minimum of information to be transferred between the treatment nodes. The segmentation of people is the initial step in a multitude of movement and tracking algorithms and analyses.
Approach: In order to adequately segment silhouettes present in the camera’s field of view, the background will be modeled with a sum of Gaussian distributions. This statistic model will be combined with a basis movement estimator based on block matching. This estimator will allow a spatial treatment of the segmentation, which is lacking from the statistic model. The detected subjects will then be tracked throughout their presence in the camera’s field of view by following the movement vectors and recognizing them in front of other cameras by studying their statistic distributions.
Challenges: The main challenge in this research is to adequately combine several algorithms of modeling and tracking in a cooperative manner.
Applications: This project has numerous applications in the area of surveillance and artificial vision.
Calendar: January 2003 - January 2005
Last modification: Nov 24 2007 11:37PM by nmartel

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Segmentation de bas niveau et suivi de personnes à l’aide d’un réseau de caméras indépendantes.
Maîtrise
Nicolas Martel-Brisson
André Zaccarin (Directeur)
Problème: La détection et le suivi de personnes dans des environnements intérieurs et extérieurs a été l’objet de travaux et de nombreuses publications pour une multitude d’applications. La complexité de la tâche dépends de plusieurs facteurs dont le type d’arrière plan ( fixe, mobile, évolutif...) , la qualité de la segmentation désirée (avec ou sans ombre, seulement visage…) et la complexité de la cible à suivre (contraste avec l’arrière fond, immobile, plusieurs personnes…).
Motivation: L’automatisation du domaine de la surveillance vidéo est intrinsèquement lié à la capacité de repérer des cibles présentes dans l’image. Dans le cadre du projet MONNET - (Monitoring of Extended Premises: Tracking Pedestrians Using a Network of Loosely Coupled Cameras), nous désirons segmenter les gens de l’arrière-fond, les suivre d’un champ de vue à l’autre et analyser leurs mouvements à l’aide d’un réseau de caméras où chaque unité d’acquisition et de traitement est indépendant. Cette indépendance permet de transférer le minimum d’information entre les nœuds de traitement. La segmentation des personnes est l’étape initiale à une multitude d’algorithme de d’analyse de mouvements et de tracking.
Approche: Afin de segmenter adéquatement les silhouettes présentes dans le champ de vue de la caméra, nous modélisons l’arrière-plan avec une somme de distributions gaussiennes. À ce modèle statistique, nous voulons y jumeler un estimateur de mouvement basé sur l’association de bloc « block matching ». Cet estimateur permettrait un traitement spatial de la segmentation, déficient à la modélisation statistique. Ensuite nous voulons suivre les cibles détectées tout au long de leur présence devant les caméras en suivant les vecteurs de mouvements et être capable de les reconnaître devant d’autres caméras en étudiant leurs distributions statistiques
Défis: Le principal défi de ces travaux est de jumeler adéquatement les divers algorithmes de modélisation et de suivi dans le but de les rendre coopératif.
Applications: Ce projet permet de nombreuses applications tant dans les domaines de la surveillance que de la vision artificielle.
Calendrier: janvier 2003 - janvier 2005
Dernière modification: Nov 24 2007 11:37PM par nmartel

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés