CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Addition of a video quality evaluation module to an MPEG encoder
Masters
Sébastien Lafontaine
André Zaccarin (Supervisor)
Thierry Eude (Co-supervisor)
Problem: Video compression algorithms have become very common these days. Videos on internet, DVDs as well as game kinematics widely use well documented techniques. However, there are very few tools available for measuring the quality of a video sequence produced by an encoder. These tools are used on encoded sequences. If there were a way to control an encoder with an algorithm evaluating the quality of a video sequence, then the encoder could generate a high quality video sequence with maximum compression.
Motivation: DVD, Internet, game kinematics, home video, etc.
Approach: The approach used aims to attach a video quality evaluation module to an encoder to enable the latter to vary the compression ratio to be used.
Challenges: This type of program is very rare. The main challenges involve the difficulty of evaluating the quality of a video sequence as well as performing modifications directly within a video encoder.
Applications: DVD, Internet, game kinematics, home video, etc.
Expected results: The expected result is a compressed video sequence whose quality is such that if a lower rate of compression had been used, the human eye could not detect any loss of quality in the video sequence.
Calendar: September 2003 - December 2005
Support: Prof. André Zaccarin
Last modification: Sep 28 2007 2:46PM by slafont

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Ajout d'un module d'évaluation de la qualité video à un encodeur MPEG
Maîtrise
Sébastien Lafontaine
André Zaccarin (Directeur)
Thierry Eude (Codirecteur)
Problème: Les algorithmes de compressions video sont devenus monnaie courante de nos jours. La video sur Internet, les DVD ainsi que les cinématiques de jeux utilisent énormément des techniques bien documentées. Cependant, il existe très peu d'outils pour mesurer la qualité d'une séquence produite par un encodeur. Ces outils fonctionnent sur une séquence déjà encodée. S'il existait un moyen de contrôler un encodeur avec un algorithme d'évaluation de qualité video, l'encodeur pourrait générer une séquence video compressée au maximum possédant une très bonne qualité video.
Motivation: DVD, Internet, cinématiques de jeux, «home video», etc.
Approche: L'approche utilisée vise essentiellement à greffer un module d'évaluation de qualité video à un encodeur afin que ce dernier varie le ratio de compression à utiliser.
Défis: Ce genre de programme est très rare dans le domaine. Les principaux défis reposent sur la difficulter d'évaluer la qualité d'une séquence video ainsi qu'à effectuer les modifications directement dans l'encodeur video.
Applications: DVD, Internet, cinématiques de jeux, «home video», etc.
Résultats attendus: Le résultat attendu est une séquence video compressée mais de qualité telle que, si le taux de compression avait été inférieur, la séquence video aurait été aussi belle pour l'oeil humain.
Calendrier: septembre 2003 - décembre 2005
Support: Prof. André Zaccarin
Dernière modification: Sep 28 2007 2:46PM par slafont

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés