CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Study of the exfoliation on aluminum specimen using pulsed thermography
Masters
Marc Genest
Xavier Maldague (Supervisor)
Problem: Non-destructive evaluation techniques allow the inspection of systems or components without altering their properties. The advantage of a thermography technique is that it allows the inspection of large surfaces and is a non-contact technique. The present study deals with the inspection of exfoliation on aluminum specimen. The goal is to quantify the dimensions and the depth reached by the corrosion. Since aluminum has a weak emissivity, part of the study consists in using several types of coatings to increase the emissivity while ensuring that the latter is uniform.
Motivation: Corrosion causes a deterioration of the metal and consequently of the structures it composes. This deterioration affects the security of people using the corroded structure, leading to repair costs and causing other damage in the structures. By carrying out non-destructive evaluation (NDE) by thermography, one can estimate the characteristics of the corrosion present in the inspected component. This evaluation provides information with respect to when the corrosion will become dangerous for the structure. Moreover, detecting corrosion in its initial stage and monitoring this corrosion, provides a retroaction of the evolution of the corrosion of the specimen with respect to the environment it is used in. This will lead to a better understanding of the phenomenon of corrosion and thus to a better corrosion control and prevention system.
Approach: The use of pulsed thermography (PT) allows the propagation time of the thermal wave to be related to the depth of the default. Moreover, the variation in temperature reached by the zones containing the defaults also depends on the depth of the default. PT thus seems like an interesting approach for the quantification of the depth of the defaults. PT also allows the dimensions of the defaults to be estimated.
Challenges: The difference in emissivity of a specimen can lead to a misinterpretation of data by the operator. When the inspected surface is covered by a uniform emissivity coating, this source of errors is removed. The operator can thus assume that the apparent differences in temperature are due to the defaults in the materials and not due to differences in emissivity. Since exfoliation arises near the surface and aluminum is a very good thermal conductor, most of the information is contained in the first images. The rate of acquisition of the infrared camera must thus be sufficiently rapid to be able to see the evolution of the temperature during the lapse of time which is of interest.
Applications: Corrosion occurs in the air industry, since certain metals, like aluminum, are used in the construction of airplanes. Non-destructive thermography inspection enables a large surface to be inspected without having to come into contact with the surface and without requiring the disassembly of the airplane, as opposed to ultrasound or Foucault current techniques which are the most commonly used methods of inspecting metals such as aluminum.
Calendar: May 2003 - August 2004
Last modification: Sep 28 2007 1:57PM by mgenest

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Étude de la corrosion exfoliante sur des spécimens en aluminium, à l'aide de la thermographie pulsée
Maîtrise
Marc Genest
Xavier Maldague (Directeur)
Problème: Les techniques d’évaluations non destructives permettent l’inspection de systèmes ou de composantes sans en altérer les propriétés. L’avantage de la technique par thermographie est qu’elle permet l’inspection de grandes surfaces et est une technique sans contact. La présente étude s’intéresse à l’inspection de la corrosion exfoliante sur des spécimens d’aluminium. Le but est de quantifier les dimensions et la profondeur atteintes par la corrosion. Puisque l’aluminium possède une faible émissivité, une partie de l’étude consiste à essayer divers types de revêtements pour augmenter l’émissivité tout en s’assurant que celle-ci est uniforme.
Motivation: La corrosion entraîne une détérioration du métal et par conséquent des structures qu’il compose. Cette détérioration affecte la sécurité des personnes qui utilisent la structure corrodée, entraîne des coûts de réparations et peut causer d’autres dommages aux structures. En effectuant l’évaluation non destructive (ÉND) par thermographie, on peut estimer les caractéristiques de la corrosion présente dans la composante inspectée. Cette évaluation permet de savoir quand la corrosion devient dangereuse pour la structure. De plus, le fait de détecter la corrosion dans un stade initial et d’en faire le suivi, permet d’avoir une rétroaction de l’évolution de la corrosion du spécimen par rapport à son environnement d’utilisation. Ce qui peut amener une meilleure compréhension du phénomène de corrosion et par conséquent, un meilleur système de contrôle et un meilleur système de prévention de celle-ci.
Approche: L’utilisation de la thermographie pulsée (TP) permet de relier le temps de propagation de l’onde thermique avec la profondeur du défaut. De plus, la variation de température atteinte par les zones contenant des défauts dépend aussi de la profondeur du défaut. La TP semble donc une approche intéressante pour quantifier la profondeur des défauts. La TP permet aussi d’estimer les dimensions des défauts.
Défis: La différence d’émissivité sur un spécimen peut faire en sorte que les données soient mal interprétées par l’opérateur. Lorsque la surface inspectée est recouverte par un revêtement d’émissivité uniforme, on enlève cette source d’erreur. L’opérateur peut donc supposer que les différences de températures apparentes sont dues à des défauts dans le matériau au lieu de provenir d’une différence d’émissivité. Puisque la corrosion exfoliante survient près de la surface et que l’aluminium est un très bon conducteur thermique, la majeure partie des informations sont contenues dans les premières images. Le taux d’acquisition de la caméra infrarouge doit donc être suffisamment rapide pour voir l’évolution de la température pour le laps de temps qui nous intéresse.
Applications: Le problème de la corrosion est présent dans l’industrie aérienne, car certains métaux, comme l’aluminium, entrent dans la fabrication des avions. L’inspection non destructive par thermographie permet d’inspecter une large surface sans avoir besoin de contact et sans nécessiter le désassemblage de l’appareil, contrairement aux techniques par ultrasons ou courant de Foucault qui sont les techniques les plus souvent utilisées pour l’inspection de métaux comme l’aluminium.
Calendrier: Mai 2003 - Août 2004
Dernière modification: Sep 28 2007 1:57PM par mgenest

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés