CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Human Head Pose Tracking In The Context Of Car Driving
Masters
Martin Breton
Denis Laurendeau (Supervisor)
Problem:

This project's goal is to determine the head pose (orientation and position) of a person in the context of car driving. The human head being able to move from left to right, up and down, the system must be able to determine the orientation on about 180 degrees about all axes, or the equivalent of half a sphere.
Motivation:

Car driving is a task that implies a strong perceptual component. It is intuitive to think that there is a direct relationship between the deterioration of many visual capabilities and the possibility of having an accident.

In the case of our elders, even though they show a deterioration of many visual capabilities (acuity, greater glare and contrast sensibility), very few direct relationships have been established between these measurements and road accidents.

This project is part of a collaboration with the GRAME (Groupe de Recherche en Analyse du Mouvement et Ergonomie) and will be part of an instrumented simulator developed to measure the driver's behaviour in a controlled virtual environment.
Approach:

A static and calibrated pair of cameras will be used as well as a target with markers in the form of a hat worn by the driver. The cameras will be placed on each side of the driver, facing him/her so that we can see the face from two different angles. This will allow the 3D position of the markers and thus the pose of the head to be obtained.
Challenges:
  • It can happen that part of the driver's face is not visible from one of the cameras. The system has to estimate a pose nonetheless.

  • The system must also be robust and precise.
Applications:

The results will be used by the researchers of the GRAME in their Car driving and getting older study and is part of COBVIS: A simulation environment for the evaluation of cephalo-ocular behaviour and visuel pattern on drivers, a project from Auto21.
Expected results:

The head pose is expected to be found for each video frame of the sequence.
Calendar: September 2003 - September 2005
Last modification: Sep 28 2007 2:41PM by mbreton

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Suivi temporel de la pose du visage d'une personne dans le contexte de la conduite automobile
Maîtrise
Martin Breton
Denis Laurendeau (Directeur)
Problème:

Ce projet vise à déterminer la pose, soit l'orientation et la position du visage d'une personne dans le contexte de la conduite automobile. La tête pouvant bouger de gauche à droite, de haut en bas le système devra être capable de déterminer la pose sur environ 180 degrés sur tous les axes, soit l'équivalent d'une demi-sphère.
Motivation:

La conduite automobile est une tâche qui implique une composante perceptuelle importante. Il est intuitif de croire qu'une une relation directe existe entre la détérioration de plusieurs capacités visuelles et la possibilité de faire un accident de la route.

Dans le cas des personnes âgées, même si elles démontrent une détérioration de plusieurs capacités visuelles (acuité, sensibilité accrue à l'éblouissement et au contraste), très peu de relations directes ont été établies entre ces mesures et la fréquence des accidents de la route.

Ce projet s'inscrit dans le cadre d'une collaboration avec le GRAME (Groupe de Recherche en Analyse du Mouvement et Ergonomie) et fera partie d'un simulateur instrumenté développé pour mesurer le comportement d'un conducteur dans un environnement virtuel contrôlé.
Approche:

Une paire de caméras fixes et calibrées sera utilisée ainsi qu'une cible avec des marqueurs sous la forme d'un chapeau porté par le sujet. Les caméras seront placées de chaque côté du conducteur, face à lui de façon à voir le visage sous deux angles différents. Ceci permettra d'obtenir la position tri-dimensionnelle des marqueurs dans l'espace et donc la pose de la tête.
Défis:
  • Il peut arriver que le visage du conducteur ne soit visible que par une caméra, le système devra quand même estimer la pose.

  • Le système doit être robuste et précis.
Applications:

Les résultats obtenus seront utilisés par les chercheurs du GRAME dans le cadre de leur étude sur la conduite automobile et le vieillissement et par le groupe COBVIS: A simulation environment for the evaluation of cephalo-ocular behaviour and visuel pattern on drivers et fait parti du projet Auto21.
Résultats attendus:

Pour chaque image vidéo le système estimera la pose du visage.
Calendrier: septembre 2003 - septembre 2005
Dernière modification: Sep 28 2007 2:41PM par mbreton

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés