CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Modelling and Comparing Human Gait from Monocular Video Sequences
Ph.D.
Frédéric Jean
Robert Bergevin (Supervisor)
Problem:

The tracking and detection of people by means of a computerized system of cameras has been the subject of many research projects in the recent time. Several approaches have been proposed to solve this problem. However, these approaches are sometimes not realistic and often require a constrained environment as well as the cooperation of the people being observed. It would be interesting to be able to track and recognize people using more natural criteria and a less invasive approach, such as observing the gait of a person. A person’s gait is mainly characterized by the position of each of his limbs and the movement he carries out over time when he is walking. Consequently, the problem first consists in automatically finding and tracking principal body parts from a monocular video sequence. A gait model is then built from the body part trajectories. Finally, this gait model is compared to other existing gait models in order to verify if the currently observed person has been seen before.

Motivation:

This project is a continuation of the work carried out within the MONNET project (MONNET refers to Monitoring of Extended Premises: Tracking Pedestrians Using a Network of Loosely Coupled Cameras). The main objective of this project is to develop a computer vision system which can track people in various locations in real time for surveillance and security purposes. The system consists in a network of cameras connected to loosely coupled computing nodes which can communicate among themselves the information they have acquired in order to detect and track people.

Approach:

Most of the motions performed by a walking person involve the extremities, namely the head, the hands and the feet. Since hand motion is not constrained during the walk, only the head and the feet will be found and tracked. Thereafter, a normalization process will be developed in order to rectify the head and the feet trajectories. This normalization process is required in order to obtain body part trajectories that are invariant to the view and the changes in the walking direction. Finally, some gait characteristics will be extracted from normalized body part trajectories in order to build gait models of observed people. Several gait model types will be tested, and their discrimination potential will be analyzed and compared.

Challenges:

A system which models and compares people using their gait is not easy to design since it must function in real time, be robust and have a minimum of constraints. The system will be composed of several modules which must be executed one after the other in a minimal time frame for each of the images in a video sequence. The system will be confronted with a variety of situations such as the differences in the distance of people with respect to the cameras, the different points of view in which people will be observed, the noise from background subtraction, etc. All of these situations will make the task of tracking the body parts and modeling the gait of people more challenging.

Applications:

The proposed approach will provide a means of modelling and comparing people by their gait in some environments for specific applications. One of those applications consists in the surveillance of public areas in order to track people’s movements. The integration of the proposed approach into an intelligent human-computer system could be a possible application. Finally, this approach could be used in an authentification system for accessing restricted areas.

Calendar:

May 2005 - May 2009

Last modification: Apr 15 2009 4:59PM by fjean

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Modélisation et comparaison de la démarche de personnes à partir de séquences vidéo monoculaires
Doctorat
Frédéric Jean
Robert Bergevin (Directeur)
Problème:

Le suivi de personnes par un système informatique avec caméras est l'objet de beaucoup de travaux depuis quelques temps. Plusieurs techniques ont été développées pour tenter de résoudre ce problème. Cependant, ces méthodes ne sont pas toujours réalistes et nécessitent bien souvent un environnement contraint en plus de la coopération des personnes observées. Il serait donc intéressant de pouvoir suivre et éventuellement reconnaître des personnes à l'aide de critères plus naturels et des méthodes moins invasives telles que l'observation de la démarche des personnes. La démarche d'une personne est caractérisée par les mouvements effectués dans le temps par le corps et les membres lors de la marche. Par conséquent, le problème consiste en un premier temps à localiser et à suivre automatiquement les principaux membres d'une personne à partir d'une séquence vidéo monoculaire. Un modèle de la démarche est alors construit à partir des trajectoires des membres. Ce modèle est finalement comparé aux modèles existants afin de déterminer si la personne actuellement observée à déjà été observée auparavant.

Motivation:

Ce projet fait suite au travail effectué dans le cadre du projet MONNET (Monitoring of Extended Premises: Tracking Pedestrians Using a Network of Loosely Coupled Cameras). L'objectif premier de ce projet était de développer un système de vision par ordinateur permettant de suivre en temps réel des personnes dans divers endroits pour des fins de surveillance et de sécurité. Le système consiste en un réseau de caméras reliées à des noeuds de calculs faiblement couplés qui peuvent communiquer entre eux les informations dont ils disposent afin d'effectuer la reconnaissance et le suivi de personnes.

Approche:

Les membres comportant le plus d'information sur le mouvement effectué par une personne qui marche sont les extrémités, c'est-à-dire la tête, les mains et les pieds. Puisque le mouvement des mains n'est pas contraint lors de la marche, seulement la tête et les pieds seront localisés et suivis. Par la suite, une procédure de normalisation sera développée afin de rectifier la trajectoire des pieds et de la tête. Cette procédure est nécessaire pour obtenir une invariance à la vue et aux changements de direction dans la marche. Finalement, plusieurs caractéristiques de la démarche seront extraites de la trajectoire normalisée des pieds et de la tête afin de construire des modèles de la démarche des personnes observée. Plusieurs types de modèles de la démarche seront testés et leur potentiel de discrimination sera analysé et comparé.

Défis:

Un système permettant de modéliser et de comparer des personnes par leur démarche n'est pas simple à concevoir puisqu'il doit fonctionner en temps réel et être pourvu d'une certaine robustesse, et ce avec un minimum de contraintes. Le système comportera en effet plusieurs modules qui doivent s'exécuter les uns après les autres dans un temps minimal pour chacune des images d'une séquence vidéo. Le système sera confronté à diverses situations telles que les différences de distance des personnes par rapport aux caméras, les différents points de vue dans lesquelles seront perçues les personnes, le bruit de la soustraction de l'arrière-plan, etc. Toutes ces situations complexifieront la tâche de suivre les principaux membres d'une personne et de modéliser leur démarche.

Applications:

L'approche proposée permettra de modéliser et de comparer des personnes par leur démarche dans divers environnements pour des applications particulières. Une de ces applications est la surveillance dans des endroits publics afin de suivre le déplacement des personnes. L'intégration de l'approche proposée dans une interface homme-machine d'un système intelligent pourrait être aussi une application possible. Finalement, cette approche pourrait être utilisée dans un système d'authentification de personnes pour l'accès à des lieux restreints.

Calendrier:

Mai 2005 - Mai 2009

Dernière modification: Apr 15 2009 4:59PM par fjean

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés