CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

MONNET Simulation
Masters
Richard Drouin
Denis Laurendeau (Supervisor)
Problem: Tracking people in complex environments is an important problem in several areas : security in public places, military interventions in urban areas or in assisting people experiencing a loss of autonomy. Our project is part of the MONNET project which aims to develop a system for tracking people. This system is composed of an ensemble of nodes each equipped with visible and infrared cameras as well as a calculation unit for the treatment of video sequences. These nodes are connected together in a network and exchange information on people who are moving within their field of view. The network is composed of these nodes which are loosely coupled since each node is an independent component of the network, but is able to exchange information with the other nodes so as to enable a more complete tracking of people. Moreover, the fields of view of the nodes are not necessarily overlapping, which implies that the system must be able to treat information while taking into account the non-observed zones of the environment. Our project consists in studying the aspects related to the communication… between loosely coupled nodes and to define an exchange protocol enabling the nodes to exchange relevant information regarding the static and dynamic appearance of people who are moving within their field of view.
Motivation: In the literature most visual systems enabling the tracking of people are described as being based on a central server which is responsible for managing the interactions between nodes. The system described herein is significantly different from these systems since it is based on a network of loosely coupled cameras.
Approach: The research methodology consists in carrying out a literature survey on comparable systems. We will then perform an analysis of the needs relative to the desired application and define a software architecture responding to these needs. A simulation environment with different possible solutions will be implemented on the APIA simulator presently available in the Laboratory. The implementation of this architecture will be carried out using the C++ language and the prototype will be tested with simulated data as well as data provided by the algorithms of artificial vision developed by other members of the research team.
Challenges: The main challenge of this project consists in developing a flexible, robust and evolving inter-node communication module.
Applications: The results of our work will be integrated into the research involving the MONNET system.
Last modification: Jun 11 2004 10:06AM by drouin04

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

MONNET Simulation
Maîtrise
Richard Drouin
Denis Laurendeau (Directeur)
Problème: Le suivi de personnes dans des environnements complexes est un problème important dans plusieurs domaines : sécurité dans les lieux publics, interventions militaires dans les environnements urbains, ou assistance à des personnes en perte d’autonomie. Notre projet se situe dans le cadre du projet MONNET qui vise à développer un système pour le suivi de personnes. Ce système est formé d’un ensemble de nœuds dotés chacun de caméras visible et infrarouge de même que d’une unité de calcul pour le traitement de séquences vidéos. Ces nœuds sont reliés en réseau et s’échangent des informations sur les personnes se déplaçant dans leur champ de vision. Le réseau formé de ces nœuds est dit faiblement couplé parce que chaque nœud est une composante indépendante du réseau, mais est en mesure d’échanger des informations avec d’autres nœuds de manière à effectuer un suivi plus riche des personnes. De plus, les champs de vision des nœuds ne sont pas obligatoirement communs, ce qui implique que le système doit être en mesure de traiter les informations en tenant compte des zones non observées de l’environnement. Notre projet consiste à étudier les aspects relatifs à la communication de haut entre les nœuds faiblement couplés et à définir un protocole d’échange permettant aux nœuds d’échanger des informations pertinentes sur l’apparence statique et dynamique des personnes qui déambulent dans leur champ de vision.
Motivation: La plupart des systèmes de suivi visuel de personnes présentement décrits dans la littérature sont basés sur un serveur central responsable de gérer les interactions entre le nœuds. Le système décrit ci-dessus se démarque significativement de ceux-ci en se basant sur un réseau faiblement couplé de caméras.
Approche: La méthodologie de recherche consistera à effectuer une revue de la littérature sur les systèmes comparables. Par la suite, nous procéderons à une analyse des besoins relatifs à l’application et définirons l’architecture logicielle répondant à ces besoins. Un environnement de simulation de différentes solutions possibles sera implanté sur le simulateur APIA présentement disponible au Laboratoire. L’implantation de cette architecture sera effectuée en langage C++ et le prototype sera testé avec des données simulées de même qu’avec des données fournies par les algorithmes de vision artificielle développés par les autres membres de l’équipe.
Défis: Le principal défi de ce projet consiste à réaliser un module de communication inter-nœuds flexible, robuste et évolutif.
Applications: Les résultats de nos travaux s’intègreront aux recherches du système MONNET.
Dernière modification: Jun 11 2004 10:06AM par drouin04

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés