CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

A self-referencing hand-held 3D sensor
Masters
Richard Khoury
Patrick Hébert (Supervisor)
Problem:
The CVSL is developing a hand-held range sensor designed to digitize 3D real objects. In order to integrate range measurements in a global coordinate system without human intervention, this sensor must be able to calculate its own position in space. The principle of self-referencing algorithms, which are presently being used, is based on the observation and tracking of fixed laser reference points projected on the object to be digitized. However, these algorithms often lack robustness or impose a very limited number of reference points for real time treatment.
Motivation:
A sensor which can move freely in space enables the rapid construction of a 3D model of the surface for a real object even if not all of the facets are visible from the same viewpoint or if some facets may be difficult to access. In order to integrate all of the measurements obtained with this sensor, it is however necessary to estimate the movement of the sensor between each image, and consequently provide the position of the sensor in a global coordinate system. A sensor which uses observations to self-reference itself becomes attractive since it limits the dependence on an external positioning device which is precise but costly. Moreover, this should lead to an increase in freedom of movement in the workspace and consequently lead to a greater reduction in modeling time.
Approach:
At the present time, the sensor uses two different algorithms: the first algorithm tracks the reference points in a continuous sequence while the second algorithm fuses two sequences, which is essential when an interruption occurs. The latter leads to a recognition problem, which is addressed by using the stability of the Delaunay tetrahedrisation, built using each set of reference points. In order to avoid failure during tracking and improve computing performance, the tracking and recognition aspects will be integrated into a hybrid algorithm. Finally, the possibility of extending the system to enable the detection of passive points and to eliminate the need of projecting laser points in all situations will be evaluated.
Challenges:
The self-referencing algorithms which are presently being used impose a limit on the number of reference points (less than 50) for tracking and require one viewpoint in which most points must be visible. These two constraints must be eliminated. However, eliminating the constraint involving the number of points will probably lead to an increase in the complexity of the matching, which is problematic in a real-time system. And to eliminate the second constraint on visibility, one must construct, maintain and continually validate a model of reference points.
Applications:
A sensor equipped with a robust and precise self-referencing system will be very useful for interactive modeling, by reducing the acquisition and modeling time. Furthermore, in several areas where it is not possible to move an object which is to be modeled (measurements in the field, in archaeology, in areas of forensics or engineering expertise), the flexibility of such a system will be an asset, if not a necessity.
Calendar: September 2002 - September 2004
Last modification: Sep 28 2007 2:32PM by khoury

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Auto-positionnement d’un capteur 3D tenu à la main
Maîtrise
Richard Khoury
Patrick Hébert (Directeur)
Problème:
Le LVSN développe un télémètre laser tenu à la main pour numériser des objets réels 3D. Ce capteur doit entre autre pouvoir calculer sa propre position dans l’espace afin d’intégrer les mesures télémétriques dans un référentiel global sans intervention humaine. Le principe des algorithmes actuels d’auto-positionnement repose sur l’observation et le suivi de points de référence laser fixes, projetés sur l’objet à numériser. Cependant ces algorithmes, quoique fonctionnels, sont soit peu robustes ou imposent un nombre très réduit de points de référence pour un traitement en temps réel.
Motivation:
Un capteur capable de mouvements libres dans l’espace permet de construire rapidement un modèle 3D de la surface d’un objet réel dont toutes les facettes ne sont pas visibles d’un même point de vue ou dont certaines parties sont difficilement accessibles. Mais afin d’intégrer toutes les mesures prises, il est nécessaire d’estimer le mouvement du capteur entre chaque image, et par conséquent de fournir la position du capteur dans un référentiel global. L’intérêt d’un capteur auto-positionné à partir des observations est de limiter la dépendance à un positionneur externe, précis mais coûteux. De plus, on espère accroître la liberté de mouvement dans l’espace de travail et, par conséquent, réduire davantage le temps de modélisation.
Approche:
Actuellement, le capteur compte sur deux algorithmes différents : un premier pour le suivi des points de référence dans une séquence continue et un second pour la fusion de deux séquences, nécessaire lors d’une interruption de la saisie. Ce dernier cas constitue un problème de reconnaissance qui a été abordé en exploitant la stabilité de la tétraédrisation de Delaunay, construite à partir des deux groupes de points de référence. Pour limiter le décrochage et améliorer la performance calculatoire, nous intégrerons le suivi et la reconnaissance dans un algorithme hybride. Finalement, nous évaluerons la possibilité d’étendre le système pour permettre la détection de points passifs et éliminer le besoin de projeter des points laser dans toutes les situations.
Défis:
Les algorithmes d’auto-positionnement que nous utilisons imposent actuellement une limite d’environ 50 points de référence pour le suivi, de même que l’existence d’une vue pour laquelle l’ensemble de ces points doivent être visibles. Ces deux contraintes doivent être éliminées. Cependant, éliminer la contrainte sur le nombre de points aurait normalement l’effet d’augmenter la complexité de l’appariement; ce qui est problématique dans un système devant fonctionner en temps réel. Et pour éliminer la contrainte de vue unique, il faut construire, maintenir et valider continuellement un modèle des points de référence.
Applications:
Un capteur muni d’un système d’auto-positionnement robuste et précis serait très utile pour la modélisation interactive, afin de réduire le temps d’acquisition et de modélisation. De plus, dans plusieurs domaines où il n’est pas possible de déplacer l’objet à modéliser (mesures sur le terrain, en archéologie, dans les domaines de l’expertise légale ou en ingénierie), la flexibilité d’un tel système sera un atout, voire une nécessité.
Calendrier: septembre 2002 - septembre 2004
Dernière modification: Sep 28 2007 2:32PM par khoury

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés