CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Intelligent fusion of a hybrid (infrared and visible) sensor in the context of pedestrian detection and surveillance.
Masters
Hélène Torresan
Xavier Maldague (Supervisor)
Patrick Hébert (Co-supervisor)
Problem: The detection of the movement of people has become more and more important over the past few years. Numerous applications in the area of security and surveillance are emerging. The goal of this project is to develop a prototype combining an infrared and visible sensor to enable the detection and surveillance of pedestrians over a period of time. More specifically, the project will be carried out in an environment where one to three pedestrians are moving in a range of 9 to 21 meters within an area affected by various lighting and atmospheric conditions involving wind, snow, night and day.
Motivation: The addition of an infrared sensor will provide information which complements the images obtained in the visible range. Visible images offer a rich content where the detection of people can however be limited by a change in lighting conditions. Infrared images generally allow a better contrast to be obtained between a person and the environment, but these images are not as robust to changes in temperature and wind conditions. An intelligent fusion of the information provided by both sensors could reduce false alarms and the advent of non detected pedestrians, thereby increasing the performance of a pedestrian detection and surveillance system.
Approach: The detection of pedestrians is a process involving several interdependent steps. The quality of the steps involving data acquisition, locating zones of movement, classification and monitoring over time is crucial for a more robust detection. Data acquisition requires the constitution of a database which combines sequences of visible and infrared images obtained under difference climatic and lighting conditions. The sequence of images must be synchronized, corrected and calibrated both geometrically and with temperature. The extraction and monitoring over time of each region of interest makes use of movement and is carried out independently for each sequence. A matching of the regions of interest is developed using the epipolar constraints. Finally, for the step involving the classification, critical parameters indicating the presence of people are determined on the basis of characteristics such as temperature, geometry and ratios compared to the rest of the environment.
Challenges: The detection and monitoring of people in interior and exterior environments involves numerous challenges. Algorithms treating the detection of people already exist in the Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory and perform well for visible images (extraction of regions of interest, geometric calibration). One of the challenges is to adapt these algorithms for the treatment of infrared images. Then, the respective limitations of the two sensors must be clearly identified so as to extract the complementary information. The greatest challenge involves the development and proposal of a method of intelligent fusion which will enable the robustness of human detection to be improved while reducing false alarms and the advent of non detected pedestrians.
Applications: The applications of a visible sensor for pedestrian detection and monitoring are already numerous and can be applied to many public environments (parking lots, airports, etc.). With the addition of an infrared sensor, these systems will become more robust and will be able to function under varying lighting and climatic conditions, both day and night, in summer as well as in winter.
Calendar: September 2002 - December 2004
Last modification: Sep 28 2007 2:07PM by torresan

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Fusion des informations d’un capteur hybride (infrarouge et visible) dans le contexte de la détection et de la surveillance de piétons.
Maîtrise
Hélène Torresan
Xavier Maldague (Directeur)
Patrick Hébert (Codirecteur)
Problème: La détection du mouvement humain est devenue de plus en plus importante au cours des dernières années. De nombreuses applications au niveau de la sécurité et de la surveillance sont en pleine émergence. Le but de ce projet est de développer un prototype combinant un capteur visible et infrarouge permettant de détecter et suivre des piétons dans le temps. Plus spécifiquement, la démonstration sera réalisée dans un environnement où circulent de un à trois piétons dans une plage de distance variant de 9 à 21 mètres à l’intérieur d’une scène affectée par diverses conditions d’éclairage et atmosphériques comme le vent, la neige, la nuit et le jour.
Motivation: L’ajout d’un capteur infrarouge est susceptible d’apporter des informations complémentaires aux images acquises dans la bande du visible. Les images visibles offrent un contenu riche où la détection d’humains peut cependant être limitée par un changement au niveau des conditions d’éclairage. Les images infrarouges permettent généralement d’obtenir un meilleur contraste entre l’humain et son environnement mais demeurent peu robustes aux changements de température et au vent. Une fusion intelligente des informations provenant des deux capteurs pourrait donc permettre de diminuer les fausses alarmes et les piétons non détectés afin d’augmenter les performances d’un système de détection et de suivi d’humains dans le temps.
Approche: La détection de piétons est un processus qui englobe plusieurs étapes interdépendantes. La qualité des étapes d’acquisition des données, de localisation des zones de mouvement, de classification et suivi dans le temps est cruciale pour une détection plus robuste. L’étape d’acquisition des données nécessite la constitution d’une base de données regroupant des séquences d’images visibles et infrarouges acquises sous différentes conditions climatiques et d’éclairage. Les séquences d’images doivent être synchronisées, corrigées et calibrées géométriquement et en température. L’étape d’extraction et de suivi dans le temps des régions d’intérêt exploite le mouvement et s’effectue indépendamment pour chacune des séquences. Un appariement des régions d’intérêt est développé et exploite les contraintes épipolaires. Finalement pour l’étape de classification, des paramètres critiques caractérisant la présence d’humains sont déterminés sur la base de caractéristiques de température, géométrie et ratios comparés au reste de l’environnement.
Défis: La détection et le suivi d’humains dans des environnements intérieur et extérieur pose de nombreux défis. Des algorithmes de traitement pour la détection d’humains existent déjà au laboratoire de vision et systèmes numériques et fonctionnent pour des images visibles (extraction des régions d’intérêt, étalonnage géométrique). Un des défis est d’adaper ces algorithmes pour le traitement des images infrarouges. Ensuite, les limites respectives des deux capteurs doivent être clairement identifiées afin d’en extraire les informations complémentaires. Le plus grand défi reste cependant de développer et de proposer une méthode de fusion intelligente permettant d’améliorer la robustesse de la détection d’humains en diminuant les fausses alarmes et les piétons non détectés.
Applications: Les applications d’un capteur visible pour un système de détection et de suivi de piétons sont déjà très nombreuses et peuvent être utiles dans plusieurs environnements publics (stationnement, aéroports, etc). Avec l’ajout d’un capteur infrarouge, de tels systèmes deviennent plus robustes et fonctionnent également sous différentes conditions d’éclairage et climatiques, de nuit comme de jour, en été comme en hiver.
Calendrier: septembre 2002- décembre 2004
Dernière modification: Sep 28 2007 2:07PM par torresan

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés