CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Development of a Master-Slave Architecture for Evolutionary Computations
Masters
Marc Dubreuil
Marc Parizeau (Supervisor)
Problem: Evolutionary algorithms require an enormous computing power to solve problems. Fortunately, problems can easily be divided into several parts and calculated in parallel. It is now possible to purchase low cost computer clusters which are solely used to distribute computations. Moreover, another neglected source of CPU power are networks of PCs that run idle each day for long periods of time. Thus the problem involves designing a parallel and distributed system which can respond to the needs of evolutionary algorithms on a LAN of workstations. This system must perform well, be tolerant to errors, persistent with data, independent of different types of evolutionary algorithms, as well as enable a minimum time lag. This system must also be quantified in order to determine its optimal performance.
Motivation: This project is part of the research on evolutionary algorithms carried out in the Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory and is specifically linked to the Open BEAGLE project, an evolutionary algorithm software environment. These algorithms have recently received increasing attention from those who are searching for a means to apply them to complex problems. The solving of these problems often requires days on sequential computers. With the advent of affordable computer clusters, it is possible to solve these complex problems in a parallel and distributed fashion. The ultimate goal of this project is thus to diminish the computing time required to solve complex problems involving evolutionary algorithms.
Approach: The project is divided into three main steps: the creation of three tools (server, client framework, monitor), the quantification of the system and its validation with concrete examples. The first tool, the server, is optimized to be robust to errors so that if it breaks down, it will resume its work where it left off with a minimum of data loss. Furthermore, a Load Balancing mechanism will be implanted so that each client finishes his computations roughly at the same time, irrespective of their different speeds.

The second tool, the client framework, is responsible of taken charge of communications between the client and the server by making sure that the process is transparent to the user. Since the client can work on a workstations, if a user deactivates the program (e.g. a screen saver), the client should tell the server that it is not computing anymore.

The third tool, the monitor, does not intervene into the evolutionnary computations. It must be able to recognize the state of the problem solving and be able to search for the best data. This tool is therefore indispensable when the problem solving requires days to complete since it will provide a means of monitoring the computation.

All of these tools must be quantified so as to determine the number of clients with whom the server can communicate data before sequential computation becomes more advantageous. Thus, one can determine the number of clients which render the system optimal. The validity of the quantification must then be verified with concrete examples.
Challenges: There are already several systems which enable the distribution of evolutionary algorithm data. However, no such system is available or optimized for a LAN of workstations or a cluster of computers and the quantification of such as system has received very little attention. Since our system is optimized for LANs of workstations and is in the area of open source, users will know exactly how many clients should be involved to optimize the problem solving process.
Applications: In the near future, this system will be used in two research projects: one in manuscript characters recognition and another one in the design of lens systems.
Calendar: September 2002 to December 2004
Last modification: Sep 28 2007 1:58PM by dubreuil

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Développement d’un système Maître-Esclave pour des calculs évolutionnaires
Maîtrise
Marc Dubreuil
Marc Parizeau (Directeur)
Problème: Les algorithme évolutionnaires nécessitent énormément de puissance de calcul pour résoudre des problèmes. Heureusement, les problèmes peuvent être aisément divisés en plusieurs parties et calculés en parallèle. Il est maintenant possible d'acheter à faible coût un ensemble d'ordinateurs qui ne sert qu'à distribuer des calculs. De plus, une multitude d'ordinateurs en réseau dorment de grandes parties de la journée, perdant ainsi de précieux cycles de CPU à faire fonctionner des écrans de veille futiles. Le problème est donc de concevoir un système distribué et parallèle pouvant répondre aux exigences des algorithmes évolutionnaires sur un LAN de stations de travail. Ce système doit être performant, tolérant aux erreurs, persistant avec les données, indépendant des différents types d'algorithmes évolutionnaires tout en permettant de minimiser les temps d'attente et de pouvoir fonctionner sur un grand nombre de systèmes d'exploitation. Enfin, le système devra être quantifié afin de connaître son rendement optimal et ses limites.
Motivation: Ce projet entre dans le cadre de la recherche sur les algorithmes évolutionnaires du Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Il se greffe au projet Open BEAGLE, un environnement logiciel d'algorithmes évolutionnaires. Ces algorithmes connaissent depuis quelques années un accroissement considérable du nombre d'adeptes qui recherchent les moyens de les appliquer à des problèmes complexes. Ces problèmes demandent parfois des jours à résoudre sur des ordinateurs séquentiel. Avec la venue de clusters d'ordinateurs abordables, il devient envisageable de paralléliser et de distribuer les problèmes les plus complexes. Ce projet à donc comme but ultime de diminuer le temps de calcul pour résoudre des problèmes complexes d'algorithmes évolutionnaires.
Approche: Le projet est divisé en 3 étapes principales: la création de trois outils (serveur, coquille pour les clients et moniteur), la quantification du système et enfin sa validation avec des applications concrètes. Le premier outil, le serveur, est optimisé pour être robuste aux erreurs, c'est-à-dire que s'il tombe en panne, il doit pouvoir reprendre le travail là où il l'avait laissé et ce, avec un minimum de perte de données. De plus, une fonction de balançage des charges (Load Balancing) devra être implanté pour que chaque client finisse de calculer en même temps, peu importe leur différence de vitesse respective.

Le deuxième outil, la coquille du client, est responsable de prendre en charge les communications entre l'application et le serveur pour que tout le processus de parallèlisation soit le plus transparent possible pour un usager. Puisque qu'un client peut fonctionner sur une station de travail, lorsqu'il arrêtera de travailler (ex: quelqu'un désactive l'écran de veille), il devra signaler le serveur pour que ce dernier puisse envoyer le calcul à un autre client.

Le troisième outil, le moniteur n'intervient pas dans le processus évolutionnaire. Celui-ci a un rôle passif. Il doit pouvoir connaître l'état de la résolution du problème et être capable d'aller chercher les meilleurs données. C'est donc un outil indispensable lorsque la résolution de problèmes se comptent en jours puisqu'un suivi est donc possible.

Finalement, tous ces outils doivent être quantifiés pour connaître le nombre de clients avec qui le serveur peut communiquer des données avant que le travail séquentiel ne devienne plus avantageux. Par le fait même, à partir de combien de clients le système devient-il optimal. Cette quantification sera suivi de tests de validations.
Défis: Il existe déjà plusieurs systèmes qui permettent de distribuer des données d'algorithmes évolutionnaires. Cependant, aucun n'est disponible ni optimisé pour des LANs de stations de travail et la quantification d'un tel sytème reste encore très peu documenté. C'est dans cette optique que le projet devient intéressant. En effet, puisque notre système est optimisé pour les LANs de stations de travail et qu'en plus il sera dans le domaine publique (« open source »), les utilisateurs sauront donc exactement combien de clients donnera le meilleur rendement pour leur problème.
Applications: À court terme, ce système sera appliquée à deux projets de recherche en cours: un en reconnaissance de caractères manuscrits et l'autre pour le design de systèmes de lentilles.
Calendrier: Septembre 2002 à Décembre 2004
Dernière modification: Sep 28 2007 1:58PM par dubreuil

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés