CVSL Logo
FrancaisHome
AboutPeopleResearchPublicationsEventsProfile
About

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Positioning of a hand-held range sensor
Masters
Ying Wang
Patrick Hébert (Supervisor)
Problem: To capture the geometry of an object, it is often necessary to mount the object and/or the range sensor on a translation or rotation stage. Multiple images must be captured from different views to get a complete object scan, especially when top and bottom views are required. Thus a 3D digitizing system based on a laser range sensor should be more flexible, portable and easy to use. This has led to the birth of the hand-held sensor. Such a sensor combines a range sensor with a positioning device allowing the sensor to be moved around the object and the measurements automatically integrated in a common global coordinate system. Estimating a precise position of the sensor in real-time becomes the key problem.
Motivation: Positioning devices include mechanical, electromagnetic, optical and inertial systems. All of these systems have their limitations, such as freedom of motion (mechanical devices), precision and accuracy (electromagnetic devices), visibility (optical devices), and time integration error (inertial devices). Furthermore, one must pay special attention to synchronization and calibration of these devices with the range sensor. In order to remove these limitations and improve the freedom of motion, the desire of reducing the dependency on the position device arises naturally, i.e. the sensor could be self-referenced from observations. This is the aim of this project.
Approach: In order to position the sensor in a global coordinate system, a set of reference points are projected in the scene using a fixed and independent projector. The imaging sensor then captures both the laser pattern - for surface measurements - and reference points simultaneously. One advantage of this is that no physical target has to be placed on the object, the other is the possibility to project a set of points on one or several selected areas. The main steps are as follows:
  • Tracking in a sequence while the sensor is continuously moving;
  • Registration of two independent sequences;
  • Integration (moving all of the individual frames in a global coordinate system).
Challenges: The challenge of this project lies in correspondence, i.e. 2D and 3D correspondence. For 2D correspondence between a stereo pair, the epipolar constraint is exploited. For 3D correspondence between two sets of 3D reference points, the rigidity constraint is used. The result of the 2D correspondence influences the 3D correspondence directly. Thus, 2D correspondence is of primary concern.
Applications: There are many applications for robustly and accurately computing the camera motion, such as 3D model building, object tracking and augmented reality.
Calendar: September 2000 - September 2002
Last modification: Sep 26 2007 10:56AM by yingwang

     
   
   

©2002-. Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory. All rights reserved

Logo LVSN
EnglishAccueil
A proposPersonnesRecherchePublicationsEvenementsProfil
A propos

 

 

 

 

REPARTI

MIVIM

Positionnement d’un capteur télémétrique tenu en main
Maîtrise
Ying Wang
Patrick Hébert (Directeur)
Problème: Afin de mesurer la forme d’un objet, il est souvent nécessaire de placer l’objet et/ou le capteur sur un système de translation ou de rotation. Or, pour numériser l’ensemble de l’objet, plusieurs images doivent être saisies à partir de points de vues différents, à plus forte raison quand les vues du dessus et du dessous sont requises. Donc, un système de numérisation 3D basé sur un télémètre laser doit être plus flexible, portable et facile à utiliser. Ceci a conduit au développement de télémètres tenus en main. Ces systèmes combinent un télémètre laser et un dispositif de positionnement qui permet de déplacer aisément le capteur autour de l’objet tout en intégrant automatiquement les mesures dans un référentiel global. Le principal problème consiste alors à estimer précisément la position du capteur en temps réel.
Motivation: Il existe des dispositifs externes de positionnement mécanique, électromagnétique, optique et inertiel. Tous ces dispositifs ont des limitations telles que la liberté de mouvement (dispositifs mécaniques), la précision et l’exactitude (dispositifs électromagnétiques), la visibilité (dispositifs optiques) et la dérive temporelle (dispositifs inertiels). De plus, il faut porter une attention particulière à la synchronisation et à l’étalonnage de ces dispositifs avec le télémètre. Afin d’éliminer ces limitations et d’améliorer la liberté de mouvement, il serait souhaitable d’éviter une trop grande dépendance aux dispositifs externes de positionnement, i.e. le capteur pourrait être auto-référencé à partir de ses propres observations. C’est le but de ce projet.
Approche: Afin de positionner le capteur dans un référentiel global, un ensemble de points de référence sont projetés sur la scène au moyen d’un projecteur fixe et indépendant. La ou les caméras du capteur saisissent alors à la fois le patron laser - pour les mesures de surface - et les points de référence. Il n’est donc pas nécessaire de placer des cibles physiques sur l’objet. De plus, l’ensemble des points peuvent être aisément projetés sur une ou plusieurs zones d’intérêt de l’objet. Les principales étapes sont les suivantes:
  • Le suivi du capteur dans une séquence de mouvement continu;
  • La mise en registre de deux séquences indépendantes;
  • L’intégration de chacune des trames dans un repère global.
Défis: Le défi de ce projet est la mise en correspondance entre les points de référence observés, i.e. la correspondance 2D et 3D. Pour la correspondance 2D d’une paire stéréo, la contrainte épipolaire est exploitée. Pour la correspondance entre deux ensembles de points de référence 3D, la contrainte de rigidité est utilisée. Puisque le résultat de la correspondance 2D a une influence directe sur la correspondance 3D, la correspondance 2D est donc d’une importance primordiale.
Applications: Il y a une grande variété d’applications qui requièrent une estimation robuste et précise du mouvement d’une caméra. Les applications liées à la construction de modèles 3D, au suivi d’objets et à la réalité augmenté sont bien connues.
Calendrier: septembre 2000 - septembre 2002
Dernière modification: Sep 26 2007 10:56AM par yingwang

     
   
   

©2002-. Laboratoire de Vision et Systèmes Numériques. Tous droits réservés